Joshua Tree National Park, Nostalgia and My Kin Lured Me to Riverside CA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Riverside
November 19th 2014
Published: January 19th 2015
Edit Blog Post

The agenda for Wednesday, November 12, 2014 was a drive to Riverside CA. I was looking forward to spending some time back in the area as Riverside is one of my old stomping grounds. After I returned from Vietnam, I was stationed at nearby Camp Pendleton CA and spent many weekends with my cousin and her husband (both teachers, now retired). I ended up returning to Riverside after my USMC days, spent a couple of years there in the early 1970s and, after some mild urging by my cousins to use my GI Bill education benefit, had gone to junior college there. College in the 70s – yes, Riverside is home to a lot of Larryistory.

The Ram, Pilgrim and I departed Country Manor Mobile Home Community in Visalia CA under sunny, blue skies – well, the skies directly overhead were blue but those on the horizon were not so much! I returned to CA 99 and headed south toward Bakersfield CA. Irene, my GPS, protested adamantly as I veered onto CA 58 east toward Barstow CA. I had anticipated she would try to take me through Los Angeles CA metro with the Pilgrim in tow. Not if I don’t have to!!!

Near Tehachapi CA, the four-lane, divided highway became quite undulant and paralleled one of the Union Pacific Railroad routes. It happened that a freighter was east-bound along the south side of the highway. Interesting, not so much! The train went through at least four short tunnels within a 1-2 mile stretch, and I was treated to seeing a single train entering and exiting three different tunnels simultaneously. Pretty cool! While researching the rail route, I learned the line, which sees an average of almost 40 trains per day, is one of the busiest single-track mainlines in the world.

I also learned of the Tehachapi Loop which I didn’t (perhaps couldn’t) see from CA 58. The Tehachapi Loop is a 0.73-mile spiral that rises at a steady 2%!g(MISSING)rade and gains 77 feet in elevation in the loop. A train of more than 4,000 feet in length will pass over itself while navigating the loop. With its frequent trains and spectacular scenery, the Tehachapi Loop is one of the prime railfan stops in the country. In 1998, the Loop was named a National Historic Civil Engineering Landmark and is now a California Historical Landmark. Perhaps some day I’ll
Models Of World War I Military AircraftModels Of World War I Military AircraftModels Of World War I Military Aircraft

March Field Air Museum - Riverside CA
stop – when I’m Pilgrimless!

Shortly after a fuel stop in Borax CA, Irene guided me onto nondescript US 395 and southeast toward I-15. From that junction, I-15 southbound follows a steep, serpentine trek over Cajon Summit. Technically, Cajon Pass is traversed by CA 138 and not by I-15; however, the entire area including Cajon Pass and Cajon Summit is often collectively called Cajon Pass. Cajon Pass has an interesting story in its own right. As expected, Irene guided me over freeways that were non-existent in the 1970s and without fail to Rancho Jurupa Park in Riverside.

It is the only RV park I found in Riverside, and the park “rang no bells” in my memories of Riverside. Indeed, I seriously doubt the modern, clean, multiuse municipal facility even existed back in the day. After setting up and calling my cousin, I devoured some vittles and relaxed for the evening. I really had only two major attractions on my list for the week – Joshua Tree National Park and the Richard Nixon Library, Museum and Birthplace – and hoped to spend a good portion of the week with my cousins.

Back in the day (when the “Cold War” was still raging), March Air Force Base (March AFB) in Riverside was home to a flock or squadron or something of B-52s and non-dependent civilians needed an Act of Congress to get onto the base; however, like many military bases in the post-Vietnam/post-Cold War era, it has been downsized, repurposed or closed. Today, March AFB is March Air Reserve Base (March ARB) and is home to the March Field Air Museum. Since my cousins were occupied in the early morning on Thursday, November 13, 2014 and since March ARB is about five miles from my cousins’ home, I stopped by the March Field Air Museum on my way to their house.

One is greeted by two fighter aircraft along the walkway to the museum. On the opposite side of the walkway is a “memorial garden” with memorials to the K-9 corps, the crews of the P-38, F-4/5 of World War II, The National Distinguished Flying Cross Memorial and Freedom Shrine. Freedom Shrine is a long wall along one side of the “memorial garden” with bronze plaques containing documents, speeches and other emblems of American freedom from the Mayflower Compact to the Declaration of Independence, from Patrick Henry’s instructions to George Rogers Clark to the Constitution, from the Gettysburg Address to Woodrow Wilson’s First Inaugural Address and from the Emancipation Proclamation to the German Instrument of Surrender at the end of World War II in Europe. Very impressive!

After paying the reasonable admission fee, the visitor is greeted by one of my favorite aircraft – the SR-71 Blackbird. Photographs and aircraft models document the early days of March Field. Displays, placards and dioramas chronicle the events leading to U.S. involvement in in WW I and our nation’s first use of aerial warfare. Cutaways of the cockpit section of two fighter aircraft are on display, and domestic air travel and space travel are highlighted; but, make no mistake – March Field Air Museum is a military air museum. Outside, there are over 50 aircraft on display (the museum houses over 70 aircraft in total) as well as a Vietnam-era Fire Base showcasing a comprehensive sample of period helicopters and other warchinery from the day. Even if one is pressed for time or is not a fan of aircraft museums, I believe a brief stop at the free “memorial garden” would be rewarding for most.

Even after accelerating my pace at the museum,
Numerous Vintage Wooden Propellers Are On DisplayNumerous Vintage Wooden Propellers Are On DisplayNumerous Vintage Wooden Propellers Are On Display

March Field Air Museum - Riverside CA
I arrived at my cousins’ about an hour after my planned ETA but well within our agreed to “between” arrival time. They outlined their agenda for the week of my visit and offered an invitation to a couple of events they thought I might find of interest. Among the invitations I accepted was a production by the local theater company, Riverside Community Players. I remember attending at least two of its productions back in the day – “Paint Your Wagon” and “Butterflies Are Free.” My cousin assured me she could get an additional ticket because “she knows people!” How, I wondered – she’s not even Italian! Go figure.

The day of the theater performance, several of us met at my cousins’ home and carpooled to Tio’s Tacos – a favorite local Mexican restaurant. The interior of the restaurant boasts colorful, vibrant tile surfaces customarily found in Ma and Pa eateries in Mexico, and the food is very good. The treat, however, is outside. The parking lot, the building front and the patio are adorned with numerous pieces of folk art created from the mind and by the hands of Martin Sanchez.

Sanchez early years were spent in poverty in Mexico. Our junk – tires, bottles caps, empty cans, etc. – were his cherished toys as a child. This poverty caused him to save and reuse items from day to day use that most in the U.S. consider useless and discard. His creativity and drive has rescued average items from the trash pile and has truly embraced the “go green” movement.

After dinner and some more art appreciation, the group reloaded into the SUV for a short drive to the theater. Riverside Community Players has been in business since 1925, and provides the patron with a unique theater experience. The theater-in-the-round has only 4 or 5 rows of seating resulting in no bad seats in the house. Unavoidably, the speaking actor will have his or her back to a portion of the audience, but the intimacy of the facility more than compensates for the inconvenience.

We were treated to a British comedy, “Absurd Person Singular” by Alan Ayckbourn. The three acts recount the changing fortunes of three married couples. Each act takes place at a Christmas celebration at one of the couples' homes on successive Christmas Eves. There were moments of utter hysteria; however, at the end of the performance the group agreed there was no real plot, no real climax and no socially redeeming value. Sorry, Mr. Ayckbourn.

Saturday, November 15, 2014 found me heading out on a reconnaissance mission to Joshua Tree National Park in Twentynine Palms CA to learn if the park can justify a weeklong stop on a future foray into Southern California. In case the park was mostly a drive through attraction, I also had developed a formidable “wish list” of possible additions that lay along my general route including Gilman Historic Ranch and Wagon Museum in Banning CA, Ruddy's General Store Museum in Palm Springs CA, Orange Empire Railway Museum in Perris CA and Castle Park back in Riverside – home to a 1907 carousel. I chose a Saturday because several of the lesser attractions have limited hours of operation, and a Saturday worked best to stop for a visit IF there was sufficient time.

After a breakfast break, I made a stop at Joshua Tree National Park Headquarters in Joshua Tree CA. After talking to the park rangers and reviewing the handouts and after learning of park destinations like Oasis of Mara, Fortynine Palms Oasis, Keys View, Ryan Mountain, Lost Horse Mine and Geology Tour Road, to name but a few; I made a decision to earmark Joshua Tree for a weeklong stay when the cacti are in bloom and the hours of daylight are more abundant. I also relegated the “B” attractions I was considering to that future trip.

I made my way to the park entrance and was greeted by a bumper-to-bumper traffic jam. Maybe selecting a Saturday, when John Q. Public has a beautiful, sunny, temperate day off, was not such a good idea! Generally, I do try to visit “family attractions” on weekdays and “school group attractions” on weekends; however, this visit to Joshua Tree was primarily a reconnaissance mission so competing with crowds was not a major concern. After spending about 25-30 minutes advancing foot by foot, the line suddenly began to advance slowly but steadily. The park rangers must have received the okay to stop collecting the entrance fee, because I was waved through without stopping to show my America the Beautiful Senior Pass!

I made several stops for photo ops and walked a couple of short trails; but, I didn’t venture very far from Park Boulevard and Pinto Basin Road. Joshua Tree
A Pretty Impressive Stand Of Joshua TreesA Pretty Impressive Stand Of Joshua TreesA Pretty Impressive Stand Of Joshua Trees

Joshua Tree National Park - Twentynine Palms CA
National Park is unique and worth at least a pass through with a stop at one of the visitor centers for almost everybody. I love the desert – particularly when the flora is coming to life – and find the history associated with such foreboding topography fascinating.

I arrived at my cousins’ home in time to accompany them to a monthly pinochle club they joined many years ago for a potluck supper. I have played pinochle sporadically over the years and really enjoy the mental challenge. After a delicious meal, the tables were cleared and the shuffling began. I was invited to join, but the bidding was unlike anything I have ever seen and, therefore, I declined so I could watch, learn and devour the delicious finger food!

The only other major attraction on my “to do” list for the Riverside area was the Richard Nixon Library, Museum and Birthplace in Yorba Linda CA. I got a fashionably late start to avoid the morning rush hour on the Riverside Freeway only to find the museum parking lot full and, as one would expect relatively early in the operating day, nobody exiting the museum. I unsuccessfully drove around the
There Is Lots Of Interesting FloraThere Is Lots Of Interesting FloraThere Is Lots Of Interesting Flora

Joshua Tree National Park - Twentynine Palms CA
neighborhood for a 5-6 block radius looking for a spot on a residential street before deciding to have breakfast. I returned to replicate my search patter, again without success. Believing that the current museum patrons would not be ready to depart for 1-2 more hours, I decided to put the attraction on a future itinerary.

I had a great time visiting with my cousins and joining them in some of their activities. This is the first time we have been together since we joined the ranks of the gainfully unemployed. They have become more deeply involved in some of their “previously part-time” activities and have little time to be bored. I look forward to returning to the area and to picking up the loose ends I have left dangling in the Inland Empire. Anza-Borrego Desert State Park, Death Valley National Park, Salton Sea and Joshua Tree National Park provide me with a list of good reasons to return to Southern California when the desert is blossoming.


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 29


Advertisement

The Memorial To The K-9 Corps And Its HandlersThe Memorial To The K-9 Corps And Its Handlers
The Memorial To The K-9 Corps And Its Handlers

March Field Air Museum - Riverside CA
Ever VigilantEver Vigilant
Ever Vigilant

March Field Air Museum - Riverside CA
Most Aircraft Are Displayed OutsideMost Aircraft Are Displayed Outside
Most Aircraft Are Displayed Outside

March Field Air Museum - Riverside CA
Numerous Aircraft Of Various Types Are On DisplayNumerous Aircraft Of Various Types Are On Display
Numerous Aircraft Of Various Types Are On Display

March Field Air Museum - Riverside CA
The Vietnam Era Fire Base Is Very InterestingThe Vietnam Era Fire Base Is Very Interesting
The Vietnam Era Fire Base Is Very Interesting

March Field Air Museum - Riverside CA
The Business End Of A Cobra GunshipThe Business End Of A Cobra Gunship
The Business End Of A Cobra Gunship

March Field Air Museum - Riverside CA


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb