Riverside and Beyond


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Riverside
April 6th 2008
Published: April 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I don't really have much to report today, but this may be the last time I have free access to the net, so I thought I would write... I'm sure my loyal reader will be overjoyed

Today was the last day of the conference, and I was very tired. I didn't get a hell of a lot of sleep last night, mainly because of this blog and all the bloody photos. I actually had about double that amount, but I would still be downloading them now if I had posted them all. Because I had already given my presentation, and because I was very zoned out, the conference didn't have anywhere near as much intensity as the previous day. I enjoyed it, learnt a few things, but spent a lot of time day-dreaming, as is my speciality, that, and using commas, which I also enjoy.

Overall, I was sad when the conference ended. I really feel like I have made a big step here. This was a respectable conference with some very knowledgable people and I felt that I held my own. Perhaps what I am doing is not so bad; maybe I do have a talent beyond the 24 game! For the first time I felt like I was an academic and maybe even a proper adult. I also ate a salad with no meat at all (not even chicken) for lunch. Big steps indeed!

The conference itself was pretty well organised, with lots of good speakers and plently of free coffee and fascinating people. I find it very strange talking to people who share the same language as me and see the world in the same way. It is also interesting to listen to the global trends in academia. Scary.

Apart from all that, nothing else really happenned today. I walked around the campus looking for a place to buy a university t-shirt, but everywhere was closed. Nice campus, Riverside, and a nice university town. Boring as hell otherwise. How do people cope without a beach ?

Had a good chat to my shuttle driver on the way home and gave him a good tip. He warned me about New York. Apparently they are all in a hurry. We should get along well then. Anyway, to get to the end of the most boring blog ever, I finally arrived at our airport hotel, which is pretty darn standard. Good to be reunited with Victoria though, although she looked exhausted. Obvious can't cope with me!

I'll be sad to say goodbye to LA and this part of the trip. It has been a very interesting and rewarding experience. The people inparticular have impressed me, being a lot more laid back than I would have thought. It is also good to have the conference paper behind me and get that weight off my back. Although not literally, because I'm still carrying all the bloody books around!

Anyway, its time to start my holiday, goodbye LA, hello New York!


Advertisement



8th April 2008

meat
I'm sure you didn't have meat because you were scared of what it might do to you.....hence you chose the meat free salad.....am I right?
10th April 2008

Incredible!!!
Fantastic photo - How did you do it???

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb