It's Not the Size that Matters, It's how Much Moss you Have


Advertisement
Published: February 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Life is based on a series of relative occurrences. Let me give you an example. In the month of March in New England, people will wear shorts when the temperature hits a balmy 45 degrees. (Most) people in New England are not crazy. They realize that 45 degrees is not the appropriate time to wear shorts. But when you have just sat through an often dreary three months of below freezing temperatures, all it takes is a sunny 45 degree day for you to bust out those white thighs. Give those babies some sunlight! So when Lexi asked me in the middle of the Redwood Forest, "how much taller are these trees then the regular trees where we live?" The obvious answer was way freaking taller, but ultimately I settled on 4. These trees that we were staring at were the largest and oldest beings on the planet. I had seen Sequoia, but this was something else.

I start every day with a pre-determined number of "Whoa's". I use my "whoa's" for a number of different reasons and generally sparingly as there are a maximum which we all have. Almost being hit by a car..."whoa". Eating a deliciously large crab to the face..."whoa", seeing yourself in the mirror after a horribly fun night out...double "whoa". I can safely say that the Redwood Forest used up all my whoa's in the matter of hours. Each corner we would step around would bring a new, never before seen series of such out-of-this-world sights, that WHOA was literally the only thing I could continually say. Where the Sequoia trees generally needed a lot of space and sunlight which resulted them in being spaced out, the Redwoods cluster which brought about sights of sheer amazement. The four horsemen, titans, the kings. These are all the groups of trees I made up in my mind as we talked through the towers of these beasts. The whole time you feel small and petty in the halls of such giants, but you move on and strain your neck to view them all.

After working a few days in San Francisco, we took the car North along the 101. Our plan was uncertain, but we did hear that the higher up the coast of California you go, the taller the Redwoods. We wanted tall, so up we drove. One of the most rural parks on the highway trail was Jedidiah Smith. Six hours north of SF, it stands inland by Crescent City mainly void of tourists and filled with jungle-like surroundings. We trekked through the rainy forest and hit upon sights that really did scream at you to stop, admire and snap some pictures, and we very much obliged.



If you're thinking about it, DO IT. America's National Parks have so much to offer and I will not rest until I have taken a hit of all of these treasures, for I am truly an addict.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb