Coast to Coast


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Phelan
October 5th 2012
Published: October 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Last week I ventured out on the annual leave and found myself traveling in a westwardly direction towards California from Indian Head Maryland. I sought to see and spend time with my children, to whom I hadn't seen in over 6 months, due in part to work obligations and of course the distance between us. But never the less I set out and traveled day and night until I made it to California, a lil place called Pinion Hills, cresting on top of the Cajon Pass just off the 15 FWY. The trip entailed some adventurous night driving through Missouri. With winds and hail raining down on me and my truck we prevailed to stop at a rest stop for a couple of hours to rest my head. Awake within an hour or two, so I was back at it. Another 5-Hr Energy Drink to the empty stomach and away I went not feeling the least but tired. I pushed through 5 states (Missouri, Oklahoma, Texas, New Mexico, and Arizonia) that day resting in Arizona that evening in the backseat of my pick up truck, very comfortable by the way. The drive was boring and quiet, with only myself to keep me company and the every 3 hours to stop and get gas (which was at least 50 bucks a pop-Total cost for fule was something like 750 bucks). I ate trail mix from Walmart and drink water with my dose of 5 Hr Energy Drink as prescribed (every 5 hours while driving). Needless to stay the trip was uneventful and least exciting, but I guess it goes to show that when you are motivated and focused to get to a place you forget about where you are and what is passing before you. I didn't realize this until I was almost completed with my trip and the rising sun behind me in the East was cresting, giving light to the desert floor in Arizona. A very beautiful orange and yellow beam of light gave way to the day. That day I recalled the sunrise and I also thanked God for keeping me safe out on the roads during my journey. But the most beautiful site of all was seeing my children Jadelyn and Jacen in California, I love you kiddos and Dadda will do anything for you.

God Bless

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb