An adventure of a Head


Advertisement
Published: May 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

First of all I arrive at LAX, the weight from the realisation that it was happening, it was on! Had hit me like a boulder that had two straps attached to it and had jumped on my back. Then, I realised that the weight wasn’t just metaphoric, but was actually also the weight of my bag. This snail had made their shell too big and now I was here, feeling a lack of arm strength, and rationality to fully compute and absorb reality properly. A consequence from being pelted into the sky across the ocean, over the rainbow; where I’m not sure whether every American’s dreams really do come true… I’ve reached LA.

Over weight and over loud airport staff stand like army sergeants aggressive as they shove every one into a queue long enough to make me believe, they had set up Disney world right outside the airport. I began to think what if In fact you weren’t aloud to enter America any more, with out going through Disney world first. There had to be some explanation to now why you have to pay to enter the USA. Bored and waiting it occurred to me, What if in fact we were all in fact queuing up to be spun around and asked questions by Mickey Mouse and have goofy sniff your bags for bombs and any crack to feed his addiction- check out the teeth and pupils, mood swings- classic junky. This is an example of what sleep-deprivation, jumping time zones and watching the lion king, and then Dumbo, then snow white turns your thoughts into.

With a spontaneous plan in my pocket it was looking like a fun filled firework was ready to go off in my pit stop in the USA. I was excited even with the muscle on my back burning deep, and frustration from trying to maintain 180%!w(MISSING)hilst waiting for an hour just to meet a question filled immigration officer. Who kept me there for ten minutes because the address I had put on my immigration card was ‘My Tent, Coachella music festival.’ Well it was!

Finally I was through the retina scanning and question poking. By this point it felt as though my stomach had been ripped out, used as a basket ball, chopped into pieces, stitched up and thrown back down my throat. This would have been fine if I had a comfy hotel to get straight into. But I was nervous for other reason. I was here to find 3 complete strangers who I had only corresponded with online so far.

Meeting of four strangers…..

First person to locate was Charles. <em style="font-family: Arial;">He was the one I was nervous about meeting. As so far he showed many possible signs of being a creep! For a start he was always on line, no matter what time of day. Even with a time difference….any one that spends that much time on line must be a bit of a loser. The loneliness just screamed through the sea of questions.

This guy was hard to find. And when I finally did locate him three hours later he didn’t even speak! Standing face to face to someone who looked like Rick Moranis and ET had spawned a love child and left it to be brought up by Mrs.Doubtfire and Freddie Crooger. Covered in beige and holding a creepy, psycho gaze wearing a psychadellic top immediately I was off to a worried start. I was meant to be getting in a car and camping with this guy for the next four days and he says nothing. I wished; I was in fact a snail and I could retreat back into my shell and hide in the dark. Anything to not have this feeling of who the fuck and who an earth have I just met! So finally after some probing he sort of spoke. Then we find Maria the Brazilian girl who now lives in Alabama- I loved her accent.

Now we await for Ben probably the most important to our internet made entourage. As he was the driver and it was his ride we were crashing in on. It’s1 am by this point we’re all pretty tired and dazed at the fact at what we had done. We get in the car and straight away you sense the annoyingness oozing out of Charles’s personality. With question like "how old are you?" I reply "I’m 23." To the response of "Wow that’s old!"... i'm thinking "WTF? This guy is 21 and balding with as many pimples as I have years." The cheek of his senseless, self absorbed, weird personality. Then the sighs and "where are we goings start?" And I wants. Now I really don’t want to stay with him. It was 6am until and we had driven far and found a motel just outside of Indio. I could smell Coachella music festival coming my way. Luckily the next day I whispered to Maria in the super market that I felt like crying because I really did not want to stay with this guy. She jumped ship and saved me by agreeing to stay in my wee two man tent. Relief!

Although buying a ticket last minute on ebay and heading over the sea to a festival last minute seemed risky. Whilst your travelling you have to be up for some adventure.Being torn out of your comfort zone is what it is all about and personally makes me feel like I am really living. And it paid off; I met a group of wonderful people minus one and seriously enjoyed and would recommend Coachella Festival. If you ever are travelling their alone or from abroad or both: Get on the Coachella forum and see if you get any one to add you to the group Coachella adoption on facebook.You pay way too much on eBay as this festival sells out as quickly as Glastonbury. But this group ‘Coachella adoption’ I later discovered can also help you with that. If you didn’t believe in fairy godmothers….start to with these guys because they really can get you to the ball.

Wake up, yawn, over whelmed with heat I’ve only felt from opening an oven and putting my face too near it. Intense, time to rise and it’s only 6:45am. The picture that opens up to you as you unzip the tent is stunning! Rocky Mountains, sand on the floor, bright blue sky and a big sun.

Beautiful memories can be made; discoveries persuade a continuation in looking for new paths to be laid. Appreciation is shown to the shadows, for the shade. Wonderful smiles, silly costumes free souls and happy energies flying into the sky. I fell in love with Calfornia.



Music acts I saw in no particular order….The hives, Justice, Florence and the machine, radiohead, madness, sweedish house mafia, laura marling, james, snoop dog, tupac hlolgram, eminem, the black keys, the deer hunter and probably a few others I have forgotten about.

Good reviews all round. A festival I fully recommend!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb