BUG BITES on DELTA flight DL122


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Palm Desert
November 22nd 2011
Published: November 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

On Sept 29, 2011 I began my day at 6:30AM at DFW for my international flight to Shannon, Ireland. As was well, even the delay at ATL was bearable. On the ATL-JFK flight I felt something itching the tops of my feet. I was wearing loafers (no socks). When we landed at JFK, I had no time to look at my feet, as we were running late and my connection was already boarding on the other side of the airport. When I got on to the plane I finally looked at my feet, which were now extremely swollen and covered in bites. I immediately reported it to the head flight attendant, and told her plane should be fumigeted. She agreed and reported the incident to the Captain. A DELTA ground staff member was called. He was very assertive, and not in a good way. So much so that I was afraid if I disagreed with him or questioned him, I would be turned over to TSA. I was given 3 options.. 1: Leave the flight immediately. 2: Leave the flight and go seek medical attention ( I do not know the city of New York) or I could give up my Economy Comfort seat at the bulk head ( which cost me extra) and sit in the rear of the plane where I wouldn't be around anyone. I had no choice but to take the last option.

The bites caused an infection that is still ongoing 7 weeks later and I am still under a Dr.'s care.

Delta handed me off to their risk management team, who have offered me 500.00 and require I sign a waiver with no apology or admitance of liability. DELTA maintains that since no one else complained, it is not a real problem. I can't control what others do or do not do. The other passengers are not at issue here, the bites on my feet and ankles are.

Flyers BEWARE.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0884s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb