Family Visit in California


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Orange County
September 23rd 2012
Saved: December 5th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Family Day at DisneyFamily Day at DisneyFamily Day at Disney

We started the day at California Adventure, a new(ish) amusement park right beside Disneyland. So much fun to spend the day with my niece & nephew, brother, sister & Dad!
Hola Amigos! It's been a month since I returned to Ecuador after a 3 week visit in California and finally I'm getting this blog published. Once I start working at the hotel, life as I knew it ceases to exist. I finally found a scrap of time to finish up this blog that I started in Quito when I first got back!





My sister Claire met me at LA airport and drove me down to my Dad's place. Leisure World (aka 'Seizure World' or 'Geezer World'😉 is a senior community located in Orange County. I have stayed there with my dad before, camping out on his sofa bed however this time he arranged for me to sleep in his neighbor, Jeannie's spare bedroom. The Seal Beach Leisure World Community is one square mile of single-story townhouse style residences, all of which open onto meticulously tended green belt spaces. Every row of homes is pretty much identical but each patio or garden area is personalized with signs, statues, fake flowers and other assorted plastic kitsch. Dad's dog Benny loves to go for long walks and look for bunnies under the bushes!





A
Big Thunder MountainBig Thunder MountainBig Thunder Mountain

Smiling, happy family -- ready for adventure. (note: photo was taken BEFORE we got splashed!)
few days after I got to California my brother Bob arrived from Baltimore. It was great that he could time his business trip to coincide with my visit! My niece Jenna came out west (she lives in New York City) and my nephew Sam cleared his schedule (he works in L.A.) so the six of us had a fabulous Disney Day together! Bob & Claire & I reminisced with Dad about how Disneyland used to be in the 1960's. Our family lived in Southern California back then and almost every weekend we would beg Mom and Dad to take us to Disneyland. We probably ended up going almost once a month! Granted, back then the whole family could go for what just one ticket costs now!





On this day, Jenna & Sam were our guides. We started out by renting a motorized scooter for Dad -- we figured that he wouldn't tire out so quickly and we'd be able to stay longer, but we told him it was because his scooter would allow him and his five guests to 'scoot' to the front of the lines by following the handicapped routes. Sam & Jenna have
Mr Toad's WILD Ride!Mr Toad's WILD Ride!Mr Toad's WILD Ride!

A WILD time was had by all!! We went on any and all attractions, from the kiddie rides to the big coasters!
also mastered the art of 'Fast Pass' where you reserve a place in line for a specific time on the more popular rides. We started out at Disneyland's neighbor theme park, California Adventure. I had been there only once before when it first opened, so it still seemed fresh and new to me! It was nice to not worry about where to go next; just be led by the hand and enjoy the day.





After spending the morning at California Adventure we walked next door to Disneyland. We revisited some of Mom's favorite attractions (Tiki Room and Jungle Cruise) and saw how they'd updated some other old stand-bys (Submarine & Autopia). It was fun to be there with my Dad and two of my sibs, but I especially enjoyed visiting with my adult niece and nephew (ages 25 & 22), catching up on their personal and professional lives. Waiting in lines at an amusement park is a great way to spend quality time together and we all tend to tap into our inner child when at Disney! I'm not a huge fan of roller coasters but I sure didn't want to be left out of
Poppa on the Big SwingsPoppa on the Big SwingsPoppa on the Big Swings

As we swung and twirled to classical music, this ride afforded great views of California Adventure and the Disneyland attractions beyond!
any of the day's fun!





I stayed on with my Dad another week at Leisure World. He has games, meetings, events, excursions almost every day, so I had some free time while he kept to his busy schedule. One day while my Dad was playing Pinochle I decided to walk to the strip mall, about 2 miles up the road. Well, 'up the road' has a whole different meaning in Southern California. There was major construction work on the bridge so I had to find the temporary pedestrian path they had apparently just laid. On this sunny, 90 degree day my feet actually sank into the grainy black asphalt surface. There was, however, nowhere else to walk! Traffic was backed up through the work zone and heat waves rippled off the immobile vehicles. My squishy, narrow black path led me across the road at a makeshift pedestrian traffic light. In sharp contrast to Ecuador, here the pedestrian has full preference in all situations!





What a relief to finally arrive at Kohl's, the blast of cold air drawing me through the whoosh of sliding glass doors.
Perhaps a bit dazed from
I Don't Love Roller Coasters!I Don't Love Roller Coasters!I Don't Love Roller Coasters!

But I can often be convinced to go on them anyhow!
the sun and the heat, I felt confused when all I heard was Spanish being spoken around me, first by the construction workers and then by the patrons and staff at the discount store. Was I still in Ecuador?? -- bizarre brain zap! I tried on dozens of blouses & pants, chuckling over the little signs above the two fitting room hooks ('possibly' & 'definitely'😉. I was struck by the friendliness of the clerks and commented at checkout about how helpful the dressing room attendant had been. The manager was called over, I was asked to formalize my kudo which was then delivered immediately to the deserving employee. Needless to say, customer service is not a concept that has caught on in Ecuador!





I went on to do some more shopping at Marshall's, cruising the sale racks for mega discounts. I've never been big on high fashion - for me it's all about comfort and value! I can seldom find anything in my size in Ecuador (I hardly ever look anymore), so it was such a treat to have a huge selection to choose from...and who doesn't love a bargain! After my successful clothing purchases
What? I can't hear you --What? I can't hear you --What? I can't hear you --

No Jenna NO!! Don't bite off Mickey's ear!! My beautiful niece was celebrating because she'd just accepted a new job -- as of Oct she'll be working with Google!!
I stopped in the Health Food Store, Sprouts, to pick up the ingredients for the guacamole I was to prepare for a dinner at Claire's. Yowza! Sticker shock in the produce department- an avocado cost $2.99 (in Banos they're four for a dollar!) Gulp! I saw a mango priced at $5.00 (I'm used to getting 5/$1 when in season).





Both arms loaded down with bags full of purchases, my plan was to take the Leisure World Bus back to Dad's. After waiting nearly an hour on the specified bench inside the strip mall and seeing two city buses pass on the main road, I went out to catch the public bus. A half hour later I squeezed into the last seat on a bus full of chattering HS students. It was the first week back at school and it was fun to be a 'fly on the wall' and listen in on their conversations. We hit major delays at the bridge construction and I wondered if I could have/would have made it back faster walking with my two heavy shopping bags!





As in the past, I enjoyed going with Dad
Little Mermaid GalsLittle Mermaid GalsLittle Mermaid Gals

Claire and Jenna are thrilled and amazed by this exciting kiddie ride!!
to his Scrabble Club and Cribbage Matches. Since I've participated several times, many people recognize me and give me a warm welcome. For years my Dad's been the only man in the Scrabble Club but there's a new guy in town and he's got all of the word lists memorized. The Scrabble ladies were eager to pit me against him. JD is a nice guy and he was a good sport when I beat him three out of three. At one point we looked up when we heard applause -- Did someone get a Bingo?! (a 7 letter word that commands a 50 point bonus). No, they were just congratulating Millie for being able to lean down and pick up a fallen letter tile!





It was a special day at Cribbage. My Dad is the treasurer so he was to present the semi-annual report and they had ordered in Kentucky Fried Chicken, a box lunch for each of the sixty or so members in attendance. Lots of curly permed bluish-white and lavender heads clustered four to a table. Women outnumber men at Leisure World seven to one (Dad calls Benny his "chick magnet"!).The ladies love
Bob 'n' JessieBob 'n' JessieBob 'n' Jessie

My "little" brother Bobby has had a crush on Jessie ever since he first saw her in Toy Story. Don't tell Woody or there might could be a shoot-out!
an excuse to get dressed up and this luncheon was a big event. I loved looking at their color coordinated outfits and flashy costume jewelry! Scintillating conversation after lunch but before the tournament "Did you eat all your mashed potatoes?" and "I'm taking the second piece of chicken home to have for my supper."





While visiting with my Dad we watched nightly speeches of the Democratic National Convention. I've always been a bit of a 'political ostrich' (head in the sand) but it was interesting to drop down into the US in the midst of the campaign revving up. Before leaving Dad's place I went to the Leisure World Library and checked out a dozen audio books which I proceeded to upload into my I-Tunes library. My big brother Lee gave me his chunky old IPod last year so now I'll be able to listen to audio books my truck, plugging in the Ipod and tuning into an unoccupied radio frequency.





The last half of my visit I stayed at my sister's place. I hadn't been to her new apartment before and I really enjoyed exploring her wonderful community. Playa
Box CollectionBox CollectionBox Collection

From her many travels and gifts I have brought back from mine, Claire has decorated her place in a classy, eclectic style!
Vista was developed in the last 15 yrs on land previously owned by Howard Hughes, including the hangars where the Spruce Goose was built. The community consists of apartment buildings and single family homes in a variety of architectural styles. There's a town square with shops and restaurants, a weekly farmer's market, club and pool, parks, paths and sculpture gardens. They have their own library and I checked out more audio books to upload.





The first few days I was there Claire was out of town so I took care of her aging pup, Riley. He's almost completely blind so I was his 'seeing-eye person' during our four times a day walking excursions. He loved going to the dog park but was a bit afraid of the 'bubbler" doggie water fountain. It felt really great to just be alone and I chilled out, diving into the wonderful world of Netflix. I loved watching old movies (Benny & Joon, In America, The Kids are Alright, A Lot Like Love, Bridesmaids) and induged myself in a Grey's Anatomy marathon, starting with the first season. Many episodes I'd never seen before, and it was interesting to 'fill in
Mosaic GlassMosaic GlassMosaic Glass

Claire came home with a bag full of gorgeous colored glass and I enjoyed making some mosaic flower pots to brighten up her office.
the blanks' leading up to those I had.




Claire came back from San Francisco with a fun gift for me (and for herself). She had bought a paper bag full of tumbled colored glass. I flexed my mosaic muscles, decorating some simple terracotta flower pots. The most fun was organizing and separating the glass by color, a rainbow of beauty and translucence! I also enjoyed doing some cooking at her place. I hadn't had free run of a kitchen in quite awhile, so it was great to make some yummy creations (a mushroom risotto, some ratatouille, and my favorite - mac and cheese).





I went along with Claire to work one Friday. She has an interesting job as communications director for the preschool program at a Conservative Synagogue in Encino. She introduced me to all of the teachers as we made the rounds of each classroom. They were getting ready for the kids to shape their own challah breads, as they do each Shabbat. For me, it was fascinating to be (1) in a school setting and (2) in a Jewish environment. Claire and I stood at the doors and greeted
Over the AndesOver the AndesOver the Andes

Flying home to Ecuador this amazing mountain view welcomed me home!
the students as they arrived with their parents. I loved seeing her in this new professional role, a real departure from the stand-up comedy and speaking engagements she's been doing for the past 30 years!





While Claire was working I took a walk up Ventura Blvd and treated myself to a matinee showing of a first run film (The Words) at the posh Arclight Cinema. My ticket cost $12 (jeez!) but it was cool to be in a big LA movie theatre (with only a few other people at midday on a weekday!) Before the film began a real live person (no doubt a struggling actor) stepped in front of the screen to remind us all to turn off our cell phones and to refrain from talking during the film so as not to disturb the other three people in attendance. We all applauded him as he bowed and exited.





One afternoon Claire had a hair appointment in Manhattan Beach so I tagged along. A few of the things that were interesting to me in this shi-shi, somewhat touristy beach town: All the different languages I heard spoken on the pier, special parking spots for energy efficient vehicles, parking meters that accept credit cards, a sign in one shop that said "Respect the folded T-shirts", and the fact that grocery stores now charge for paper or plastic bags, encouraging everyone to bring their own cloth sack!






Toward the end of my California visit I was feeling quite ready to return 'home' to Ecuador. And now I'm back and so glad to be here again! If you are reading this blog, please send me a comment. I love to know who follows my ramblings!! Until the next missive......

COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

27th October 2012

Touching "Home Base"
I have wondered if you are able to make it home occasionally. Being with your Dad at this point in your lives is important. My Dad died 2 years ago at 90 and I still miss talking with him. He was so excited about my PhD work and read most of the assigned books for my classes so we could discuss them.But he didn't quite make it long enough to see me hooded in May! Fun to hear about your visit. i lived in Manhattan Beach on the beach for a year or so. Fun to just walk out to the beach and settle in, but found I really didn't do that often. Walked the boardwalk a lot. Life here is a bit scary. I don't have a job yet and my alimony runs out in January. can anyone live in the states on less than $1000/month. Keep your fingers crossed for me that something turns up soon. I am willing to move anywhere! I am so glad I am on your list for these updates. Almost feels like we have had a visit. Love, Dr. Pat (don't get to say that very often)
27th October 2012

Still here
Still keeping up with your adventures. Your family looks like a lot of fun, especially your dad. Hope to see you in Atlanta in the near future, better yet, join me on my annual trip to Tulum, Mx in a few months.
28th October 2012

coming home
Jill, I love reading about your adventures. It was nice to see you were able to get back to spend time with your family. The photos were great. I remembered Bob, from ISU and your Dad. Also great to see photos of the entire family together. I know these are visits that you will treasure for a lifetime. If you ever get back to the midwest please let me know. Take care, Julie
28th October 2012

The old days
Jill, I always enjoy reading your blog posts, especially when they are so close to (what was once) home. My high school in Santa Ana was one of the closest to Disneyland and we could hear the nightly fireworks clearly. Then, a group of area schools rented Disneyland for graduation night and we had the run of the place until morning. That was something to remember. Well, we have a Disneyland here in Hong Kong, too, but times have changed ... glad to know you are doing so well and thanks for these armchair adventures.
28th October 2012

Everybody looks great! And, dad hasn't aged a bit. Hey Molly and her boyfriend Paul may be out in mountain view. Paul got an offer from google as well, but is trying to decide between a few other offers too. If he takes that one, I'll give you click, maybe molly and jenna would hit it off?
28th October 2012

I follow!
Hi Jill - I follow your ramblings! Good to hear from you as always. Best wishes from CO and all of us at EWB. Ben
28th October 2012

Love your blog
Jill, I enjoy reading your blog every time. I see it in my e-mail and can't wait to read about what you've been doing. Your descriptions and pictures make me feel like I'm right there. Thanks for the adventures.
28th October 2012

i can relate...
...to the "seizure world" atmosphere! My Dad is 'home' again on a second 'trial run'. Bless those people who work in the assisted living and rehab centers. One tough job. And you watched "The Kids Are Alright"! Rob just gave me Pete Townshend's new book, "Who I Am" for my birthday. We're all big Who fans..What's that? Oh,...OOPS, not THAT "Kids Are Alright"! (Did you know of the previous one?) Great picture of your "swinger" Dad!
28th October 2012

Crossing Paths
Jill, So sorry we couldn't make it work to cross paths while you were in the USA. Looks like you had a fabulous time with your family, which is so important.
29th October 2012

Lo extraño!
Thanks for sharing, Jill! Glad to see you're having fun and finding time to come back and visit home. I really miss the view of Quito. Did you fly out of or into the new airport? Things are going well here. Looking for a job here in DC is taxing, but most of the time exciting and fun. And living with my grandfather is turning out to be really great. I also did a fair bit of shopping when I came home, haha! There's just nothing like it. Un abrazo.
29th October 2012

your trip to So Ca
Hi, Jill. I woke up early this morning and had time to read your blog, which I love to do, but don't always have time for. You can make a walk to the mall sound interesting. I loved all of your stories and photos. I feel like I know your whole family. I just returned from seeing my family -- in Las Vegas of all places. My brother Steve's son Paul got married there (he lives and works there, so it makes sense). It was fun seeing everyone and catching up on their lives. If ever you find yourself in LV, go to the Cirque du Soliel show "LOVE" about the Beatles. It is the finest thing about Las Vegas. Sending love, Marianna
31st October 2012

I love your blogs and actually look forward to seeing your name on South of Zero. I have been in the States--on the East Coast, DC,VA and NC, visiting family and friends--and enjoyed comparing my experiences with your West Coast visit. I hope to fly out of Dulles International Airport this morning, back to Cuenca via Panama City and Guayaquil, but there are still snafus due to Hurricane Sandy so we will see what happens. The WashingtonDC area was spared the worst of the damage; my heart goes out to the residents of NYC and NJ. My son had one tree down and we were without power for over 24 hours, but that was it. Feel very fortunate
13th December 2012

smiling
hey there jill! - just catching up with you, and enjoying your stories. mark and angela left the states today headed south. they are super excited to come relax and get some work done around the house. i know mark needs it. i hope you are well, take care :) renee

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0911s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb