Pre Trip


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Malibu
June 28th 2011
Published: June 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

The Distance

From here to there In 2 weeks from now... I will be in a new and far from here place I am excited I hope to see you there :) OR here

Today is the first day that I have to myself, done with school, back from a trip and ready to start to take action. I need to finalize some school and financial information in the next few days so I can make sure that once I leave, these things will be settled. I leave to Australia in 1 week and 3 days. The plan is to start in Sydney by staying in a hostel.. possibly Wakeup for a week or so. Orientation for the University of Syd is 10 days after I arrive, and school begins another week later.
In that time I want to mingle and go see the land around me. I have to start learning the bus/ train systems in the area and meet as many people as possible! I have to go apartment shopping in this time and look for a nice convenient place to live and cool people to live with. It would be nice to be with some Australians or other students so our lives are somewhat in the same place.
I have to start really considering what I will be packing...... how much of everything.... what I can get when I arrive and what is easier to just bring along with me. I need to see my family and hang out before I leave. I will miss many many people in my life while I am gone for the upcoming ~5 months but I need this trip. I am so excited and feel so lucky to have this opportunity. This is the new chapter in my life where it is 100% time for me to take care of me. I want to learn, explore and do so many things. Nothing can hold me back. All I have now will be my school, myself, and my new life with the new people and things I have within it. Of course I have my home life and of course it matters to me, but for now, I need to take care of me !

It is a bit scary to think about, being alone in a new land and just winging it straight from the airport, but there is something so exhilarating about the whole concept as well. I do not know what to expect -- except for greatness. I am thrilled to go on this eye opening endeavor 😊 Of course there will be some obstacles and bumps along the way, just as there are challenges in any section of life.. but I am prepared for this 😊

Cheers & see you down under!

Simone

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb