Jazz, Job Talks, and... joyousness?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles
February 2nd 2009
Published: February 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey Ya'll!

So another week is over! It all started with Tim Tams...

To celebrate Australia Day, I ventured to World Market to buy Tim Tams! Yay! They only had the caramel ones in stock, but they proved popular in one of my classes - there are still a few in my fridge, but I am using them sparingly.

Classes have been going well - lots and lots of work, but really fun and interesting. I wish I could just stay here and learn for a few more years!

On Wednesday I met Robin, who is a Visiting Affiliate as well, but who only arrived last week! It's been great talking to someone who's at the same stage as me (ok, he'll be finished sooner) and who is doing the same thing at UCLA.

On Thursday night our little jazz 'club', which consists of PhD students Satomi and Yujong and then visitors Aug, Gustav, Robin and I, when to the Jazz Bakery in Culver City. It was great - more of a performance venue (theatre-style seating) than a club, but very cool all the same. We had dinner beforehand at La Dijonaise, which was good. I still ate vegetarian though! At the Jazz Bakery we saw the Bud Shank quartet. They were absolutely fantastic - just the kind of music I like - All-time American Jazz blended with Bossa Novas and Afro-Cuban Jazz. What a great performance! I really enjoyed it and did not want it to end, but of course, it did.

I went to school of Friday for a "job talk" by Tanya Stivers. It was a very interesting talk, with great answers to the tricky questions at the end. This whole "job talk" thing is terrifying though! You have to give a talk to an entire department - so it has to be general enough for everyone to understand but detailed enough to show the experts (and boy are there some experts here) that you know you stuff! How intimidating! I had no idea about this and am not looking forward to it in my future!!

The weekend proved uneventful - housework and study dominated. I chose to be very un-American and passed on an opportunity to watch the Superbowl and studied instead! Oh well!

Today I got called a "firecracker" by someone in my group work team... not really
The very cool YujongThe very cool YujongThe very cool Yujong

You're so fun!
sure if that's a good thing or not, but in a bid to stay positive and just presume people like me rather than my usual negativity, I figure it's not a bad thing... maybe...

Actually, I'm having a really good time here and am finally feeling like I'm in control and happy with almost everything! Hurrah!

Your Hollywood Correspondent,

Sarah


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Watching a lecture videoWatching a lecture video
Watching a lecture video

So I watch four or so of these a week as well as face to face time!


7th February 2009

maybe they are referring to you being bright spark.

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 11; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb