First Day - Off to L.A.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles
August 30th 2008
Published: September 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well prepping for a month long trip is never easy. As usual, I was up til 2 am+ on Friday night packing. It was just so overwhelming. I had to figure out what clothes and shoe mood I'd be in when in L.A. and pack that for a week, then pack everything else in the 4 bags for Don to bring to Vegas for the rest of the month. Yep - 4 bags --> one for toiletries, one for clothes, one for clothes and shoes, and one for running shoes and workout clothes. Then packing all the toiletries in bags and such.... I still brought the wrong white skirt....

Anyway, I wasn't thinking until Friday that I had to be at the airport at 6 am. Yep. So that meant getting up just after 5 am after packing til 2 am. But I was proud of myself and as usual, I made it all day Saturday without a nap. Not even napping on the plane!!

Flight was uneventful other than big white dude sitting ahead of me and deciding to recline his chair at the totally wrong moment and crushing my laptop screen under the lip of my food tray lock space. So then I had to yank my laptop out from under the lip / his chair back and pull backwards and ended up crushing and bending my USB key in it's USB port. Then the dude kept bouncing in his chair the whole flight to try and get comfortable which made my tray and laptop bounce all through the flight and I had to practically keep it on my lap. Totally poopie.

Made it to L.A. on time at 10:40 am. Waited the "forever" for my bag. Met Stephanie outside. Off to Stephanie & Aaron's in Hungtinton Beach. Stephanie & Aaron's place is awesome --> gated community, huge condo all updated and beautiful painting, crown moulding and redone kitchen / bathrooms, and beautiful furniture. And I have my OWN room with my OWN bathroom with my OWN T.V. Yipee for me!

Then Stephanie and I spent the rest of the afternoon at my favourite stores: Target for perusing, baby clothes for everyone's babies, and toiletries / travel stuff as Target has the best selection PLUS of course cookies / snacks. Then also my favourite store Forever 21 for beautiful pants, argyle sweaters and cream jacket. Then Victoria Secret for our favourite underwear that for some reason they refuse to put online. Then Albertsons -- my dream world for the mint ice cream drumsticks, the four packages of ready to make cookie dough as they come in sooo many flavours, the chips & dip, the mini muffins, and on and on. There is just sooo much that the U.S. groceries store get that we don't back home. It's sooo great!! I was very good with the shopping 😊

Then we had dinner at home - Stephanie made me this great bowtie pasta with cooked spinach and cream sauce and garlic toast. Sooo good.

Then of course we went to the movies as what else would we do?!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.02s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb