LA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles
November 4th 2007
Published: November 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Me in Beverly HillsMe in Beverly HillsMe in Beverly Hills

Me amongst the palm trees. If you se movie where you the charcter is supposed to be in LA going between palm trees driving etc - this is where they film it.
LA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I start off on a sad note for me.....I didn't get to go to Newport or Laguna Beach :-( It seems greyhound doesn't go to Laguna beach and there is no direct way to it. I was supposed to be driven to LA via Laguna and Newport by my cousin but he overslept on the day so we couldn't drive up and I had to get the greyhound...grrrrr

Anyway, I was in big time LA. The greyhound took my to the downtown station first, I did not like it there and got on the first bus going to the hollywood station (they have a few stations for LA), got there and after some confusion of directions (bus driver said I was going the wrong way even tho it was the only way to get out of the station), I got on to the walk of fame and on my way to my hostel. Yup my hostel was right in the middle of hollywood, just off the walk of fame - you know the stars on the street? I wasn't too far off Mann's chinese theatre, the kodak theatre, sunset boulvard and could see the Hollywood sign easily.
Me and the Palm trees againMe and the Palm trees againMe and the Palm trees again

Another shot showing more of the road that leads into rodeo drive eventually.

So what did I do in LA? I did a fair bit of walking, up and down hollywood boulvard, to the chinese theatre, alone sunset boulvard, went out to a few bars and a club, took a tour of beverly hills/bell air, went up and down rodeo drive, went to saw the hustler hollywood store and the viper room, went to santa monica and walked to venice beach form there and back up again oh and I met Ron Jeremy...

Hollywood is said to be a bit run down and crap. It is a little, you get dirst on the streets and homeleess people and alot of tattoo places mixed with souveniour shops sure but its pretty vibrant and fun. It still has a prescence I think. I didn't get to go to the hollywood sign, I wish I had but what can you do? I went out with some people to a club...that was shut...tried to get into the Viper Room (world famous, Johnny Depp owned Viper Room) but didn't succeed tho 2 irish guys that was with us did later on. We went to a bar and resturant place, met an interesting and chatty barmaid that made
Beverly HillsBeverly HillsBeverly Hills

Beverly Hills!!!!!
me do a star jump for my 2nd drink and then on the leaving off the place I wondered why some of them was taking so long, when they came out they said they had met Ron Jeremy in there. If you don't know Ron Jeremy then well done your a morally clean soul in the eyes of the church but for the rest of us in the real world, he is a legendary adult performer shall we say. Once famous for the size of his manhood and a certain trick he could do, now more famous for a) being short, fat and hairy b) his length of time in the business c) his manhood. I didn't belive them so demanded proof, they showed me a pic they had taken. So I went back in to meet the man. He was sat at a table facing outwards with 2 young ladies and I think 2 guys. He was eating and normally I would never interupt someone eating but I didn't wanna be left behind so I stated that he was Ron Jeremy and he nodded yes and so I said 'I don't want an autograph, I don't want a picture,
Bel AirBel AirBel Air

I was the Fresh Prince...
I just want to shake your hand, your a legend man' so he shook my hand without even looking up I think while the girls went 'awww'. So I pissed him off. The lesson, don't get between a fat man and his food it doesn't matter how famous and laid back he is - he will be pissed off!!!

I went to Santa Monica and Venice Beach on one of the days. It was alright, Santa Monica isn't a bad little place, has a large beach, a crappy peir and some nice shops. They had a british store there with an attached british resturant. I didn't buy anything at the store but did go to the resturant. I had fish and chips. A valient effort, the chips weren't too bad but I wasn't keen on the fish. The fish was ok but the batter was crap, not even batter really. I had fish and chips in Riverside actually ina mock british pub, their fish was better but their chips was crap.
I took a walk to Venice beach and that takes about 30 mins. Venice beach is weird. The main walk beside the beach is filled with a mix
Rodeo DriveRodeo DriveRodeo Drive

I was on here, big and fancy, had some dumb american showing off he could say stuff in other languages - was crap when it came to the UK. He didn't get a tip.
of people selling their crap to hippes to homeless people to weirdo's. Some voodoo guy wanted me to go to him but I didn't belive he could tell me anything with accuracy. I saw Muscle beach, overheard one of the pumped guys make a joke to another pumped guy that he was gay and he heard me laugh, he was cool tho - quite pleased that I thought it was funny. The muscle beach is small though and wasn't very busy. I walked down to their pier they had there which wasn't impressive but did watch some surfers and body borders which was alright. Took a long walk back to Santa Monic, avoiding a dodgy shouting guy that was insulting people and watched in amusement as some woman in a park decided to give mothering advice to another woman passing by. The woman passing by was on the phone and her kid was doing a little thing trying to get her attention for some reason and this other woamn starts shouting 'get off the phone' to her and saying 'he wants your attention'. They kid didn't seem that distressed to me and I was amazed someone would start giving advice
Santa MonicaSanta MonicaSanta Monica

Santa Monica
liek that to a complete stranger.
I got back to Santa Monica and had to get a bus back as I had gotten the free shuttle down and they dont pick you up. So I run for this bus, get there and get my money out and he drives off, then stops again to let someone else on so I move to go on and he takes off again, then 2 other buses of the same bnumber go past despite not being full and me trying to flag them down. A bus eventually stops and I am unsure where I should get off, the guy that gave us a lift down says you have to transfer, so I ask but the driver doesn't have a clue. At one point she tells me to ask the passengers! I do so and luckily a guy said I didnt have to transfer, could stay on and then walk up to where I wanted to be so that was cool.

The hostel I stayed at had seen a fair bit of action it seemed. A guy staying there not long before me was spotted by Paris Hilton and is now travelling with her
Santa Monica BeachSanta Monica BeachSanta Monica Beach

as it says....
and becoming a professional model. They have secret gigs and album launches at the car park next door, there was also hollywoods newest and most seen to be club on the same street....I tried getting in one night with some people but it was end of th enight so didn't get in. Thats another thing, you think its a big club place right? It shuts at 1:30!!! thats the kick out time and the clubs are so far spread out. I wasn't impressed.

I did a tour of Bel Air and Beverly Hills. Had a really entertaining tour guide that reminded me of Jack Black, this guy had seen loads of stars and his story of Orlando Bloom and why he hates him is amusing. Apprently one time there was a german girl on the tour that loved Orlando Bloom and went on and on about him and then they actually saw him so she goes up to him and asks for a picture and he says......'no, this is my down time' and the girl bursts into tears so what does he do....walks away!!!! Anyway we saw a number of houses and went to the gates of the Playboy
Predator!!!!!!!!Predator!!!!!!!!Predator!!!!!!!!

at Venice Beach!!!!
Mansion, spoke to the security guard there that the guy knows and then ended it by going onto Rode Drive - very clean and lots of pricey shops.

Went out a couple of nights to, did some popping and locking in da club and got told I was pretty good so that was sweet. I didn't see anyone else famous - possibly Seth Green but I don't know. I did see some filming for a movie called the 'commune' but it wasn't anyone majorly famous being filmed, there was also some filming in the streets near the hostel but didn't see anyone I recognised.

After LA was San Fran!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Muscle Beach 1Muscle Beach 1
Muscle Beach 1

Muscle Beach where all the equipment is
Muscle Beach 2Muscle Beach 2
Muscle Beach 2

The beach part of Muscle beach
Venice Beach 1Venice Beach 1
Venice Beach 1

Venice Beach
Venice Beach 2Venice Beach 2
Venice Beach 2

Another shot of Venice beahc further down - lots of boats out that day
Boogey BoardingBoogey Boarding
Boogey Boarding

Boogey Boarding on Venice Beach
Shot of the CoastShot of the Coast
Shot of the Coast

Venice and Santa Monice beach in one shot....
Surfing!Surfing!
Surfing!

At Venice Beach.
A little piece of Leeds...A little piece of Leeds...
A little piece of Leeds...

In Hollywood. Leeds represent!!!!!
the infmaous toilets..the infmaous toilets..
the infmaous toilets..

where George Micheal was caught red handed so to speak...
HollywoodHollywood
Hollywood

Hollywood (this pic appeared better ion my camera)
Mann's Chinese TheatreMann's Chinese Theatre
Mann's Chinese Theatre

The famous one....
Bruce Willis!!!Bruce Willis!!!
Bruce Willis!!!

How cool is that???
Arnie!!Arnie!!
Arnie!!

He was back...as the Govenator!!!
Old School fameOld School fame
Old School fame

Old school...
Modern FameModern Fame
Modern Fame

For you fans out there...
The Viper Room!!!The Viper Room!!!
The Viper Room!!!

Owned by Johnny Depp
I shook..I shook..
I shook..

the hand that made those imprints and has been on more women then you have had hot dinners...


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb