Facing Fears


Advertisement
Published: November 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Lake Te AnauLake Te AnauLake Te Anau

The start of our four day hike
(I've added photos to the previous entry, which is probably more interesting that the photos here, so check those out first!)

We set off on our four day tramp with the sun shining and a clear blue sky. After six hours of walking, half of it around a lake and half of it uphill, we arrived at Luxmoor Hut. I'm slow as Christmas going uphill, especially with 20 pounds or so on my back, so I was relieved to have reached our peak (1,085 metres) for the day. It's always a terrific feeling to see snow-capped mountains at eye level. The total distance of the trek is 60km (40 miles), spaced over four days for a total of at least 20 hours of walking. I felt a little ambitious for doing this trek, but then we discovered that theere is a running race on the same track in November, where runners complete the course in 5 - 6 hours!!

Our first night, the sky was so amazingly clear that we could see Mars and Venus!! There were shooting stars all over the place . . . the sky in the Southern Hemisphere is marked by the Southern Cross, but
Above the treelineAbove the treelineAbove the treeline

Feeling somewhat accomplished (mostly b/c the uphill was done for the day)
it was difficult to distinguish constellations because there were so many visible stars.

The second day is the most challenging, especially for someone like me who has a qualified fear of heights. Heights in general don't frighten me, but narrow trails next to a ledge where I could plummet to my death sends me into a bit of panic. When I agreed to do this trek, I didn't realize I would spend a few hours confronting my fear. The ascent took quite a while, but once we were at the ridge, it was incredible!! We walked along the top for over an hour and took in views of Fiordland. We then descended about 1,000 metres, mostly via switchbacks, to the valley where we spent that night.

The last two days seemed to be a combination of small uphills and downhills before leveling to follow the path of the Waiau River. (I believe this is the River Anduin for you Lord of the Rings fans.) The hut for the third night was situated about 100 metres from the lake so we all fell asleep to the sound of waves lapping while looking at the stars. After four days of walking, my feet were begging for mercy . . . while I'm glad I did a four day hike, especially in New Zealand, it will be some time before I convince myself to do another.

We returned to Auckland with 24 hours left in our trip. I still hadn't attempted any adventure sport so I bungy jumped off the Auckland Harbor Bridge!! Quite an experience . . . 43 metres above the water with a harness on. I felt fear for a split second before the Jumpmaster started counting down, and I felt a moment of fear immediately after I jumped, but other than that, it was pure adrenaline!! I bought the DVD of it, and Sne is working on extracting some still shots so I can post them here.

I was hanging out in LA for the week and saw U2 in concert Wednesday night at the Staples Center (www.one.org) . . . I leave for Ecuador on November 5th. No habla espagnol . . .


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Sne at the middle of the ridgeSne at the middle of the ridge
Sne at the middle of the ridge

You can see the track we took across the top
My fearMy fear
My fear

This is the kind of view that scares me
Iris Burn waterfall Iris Burn waterfall
Iris Burn waterfall

at the end of the second day
Motorau HutMotorau Hut
Motorau Hut

Our home for the third night
Part of the trampPart of the tramp
Part of the tramp

This was one of the more stable bridges that we crossed (some only have a railing on one side).
FarmlandFarmland
Farmland

On the way back to Christchurch . . .farmland constitutes most of NZ's land.
Sheep Sheep
Sheep

4 million people in New Zealand . . . 40 million sheep.


5th November 2005

Overjoyed
Dear Mohna, I am so proud that you were able to face your fear of heights near a ledge. After receiving numerous e-mails from you about your travels through the Pacific and North America, I am so happy for you. Not everyone has the gusto to pull off what you are doing. Your descriptions are vivid and your pictures magnificent. I hope that you continue to enjoy wherever you may travel. Should you go to Japan, I hope I can help you out with a few suggestions of what to do. -your friend, Ken
7th November 2005

Spectacular pictures
Pictures are very pretty. Looking forward to Equador's adventure.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb