Land of Cacaine and Skin Cancer


Advertisement
Published: September 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

LAX- I think its Monday and am uncertain of the date or time, but dazed and confused I stumble into the rusted 78 Ford station wagon, following the first man who approached me with offerings of cheap lodging. We drove to Venice Beach, the American epicenter of weirdness, and home to those who live on the fringes. The hostel was a flop house for junkies and degenerates, though the matted shag in the unisex bathroom upstairs tells a story of better times.
The 4th of July was spent on the beach trying on hats, debating ridiculous tattoos and people watching.

Strange memories from a nervous night in Los Angeles, out of my depth. Long pinky nails hint at extra currular exploits as they clink against the glass table in the hostel lounge. I size up my compadres; shadows of their former selves, and lost on a fast road to nowhere nice. The pile of cocaine sits on a Now 4 cd case. Thank god the cd is still inside and not in the stereo. $124 cab ride to trendy LA bar district. Everyone is there to be seen, everyone's boyfriend is a big deal, and people compete for air time in endless meaningless conversations. I'm living some bad sequal to Swingers... What the Hell am I doing drinking in LA?

2 days later I take the city bus to the airport. Longing for normal. I look out the window. The Hollywood sign exists, I am told, just beyond that thick blanket of smog to the West. I have my doubts. Its as false and artificial as everything else in this part of the world.

Advertisement



17th September 2006

Scary stuff
Dude! I thought you were still in Canada....when did you take off again? Good for you! I didn't know if you'd stay or not! So what is your plan...send me an email and come to Australia again! ha! was at Jayne and Ross' for dinner on Friday night and me and Ross had some missing Kris and Leeds moments together! He is gonna look you up for sure....if you're out there!!!~

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb