California Dreaming


Advertisement
Published: June 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I have arrived to live out my very own California dream! My boyfriend Nick and I have arrived in Venice Beach! I've heard about this place all my life through friends but never actually believed I'd be living here myself. The best thing about this trip so far is the way I actually feel like i live here. I love fitting in to the community, walking down to buy my coffee from the local coffee shop Groundworks and just feeling so happy like "i live here! I live here!" I smell the ocean every day, I run and put my feet in the sand and I gaze at the palm trees out my window and just feel so grateful.

We came because I'm doing a yoga course and training to be an instructor back in England, but now I'm seriously thinking maybe i want to stay here and be an instructor here!

We're staying in a one bedroom apartment RIGHT ON THE BOARDWALK. It doesn't get any better than that folks...
It's the Venice Suites (www.venicesuites.com) which is a really cool old style red brick building with lots of windows and spacious, cool surf vibe furnishings. I just feel like Nick and I own this cool apartment on the beach and it's like ours! It's so much better than staying in a hotel with that nasty hotel carpet feeling, you know what I mean? Hotels can feel so generic, this place feels like someone else's really cool beach house!

I came here because I really wanted to experience the best I could here and that is what I'm doing!
The community is so great too, it's like a mixture of the coolest parts of London in LA on the beach. You get people from all walks of life, and just a touch of the stereotypical LA thing (for example little tiny dogs with sunglasses! and fake boobs!!) but it's ok because it's mixed in with the hippies and artists and muscle men and normal people and mexicans and musicians etc etc. Can you tell I like it here yet!?

More later - going to my yoga class....
Love from Venice!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb