Mall Rats


Advertisement
Published: January 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

”How are you doing?” The question from the little greeting girl in the sports store surprises me quite a lot. It’s my first visit to an American mall, and pretty much my first visit to a store overseas. Why does she want to know how I am doing? Do I know her?

No, I don’t know her. Does she want to get to know me? ”Ehh….I’m ok” is my reply. Lame. But it could have been worse, hadn’t I realized pretty fast that this is how they do it over there and started a conversation with the little poor girl. It’s nice, makes me feel special. Wouldn’t work in Sweden though, the language and tradition would make it awkward. Maybe a vodka shot to greet the customers here...?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.364s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0763s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb