Making my plans


Advertisement
Published: May 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I am leaving for my journey in less than 2 weeks (Saturday, May 13th). Today I went to Bank of America and took out $1800 worth in Traveler Checks. I plan on using traveler checks, cash and credit card for my stay in Central America. Last week I completed my contract at Tarzana hospital; I had two going away parties, which was very nice. Two of patients gave me hugs, kisses, and kind words.

I am still working at St Joseph's, with 6 more shifts left. I have the next couple of days off, so I have been running around tying up loose ends. I plan on calling the Lizama family tonight, to arrange an evening with them. For those who do not know, I met the Lizama family back in March. Mr Lizama was my patient, and in conversation I found out that him and his wife were originally from Guatemala. They fled here 25 years ago, while Guatemala was in civil war. They still have relatives that live in Guatemala, but were interested in hearing that I was going there in May. They gave me their phone number, and wanted to see me before I left. I called Mr. and Mrs. Lizama around easter sunday, and they were happy to hear that I had not left. I need to call them this week, so that I can see them before I leave. The Lizama's are very kind people, very warm and open hearted. I feel blessed that out paths crossed.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb