Hollywood!!!


Advertisement
Published: May 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

LALALA

On the way to Hollywood
It still trips me out that I departed Sydney at 2pm on the 10th of May but arrive in LA 10am on the same day. It's like modern time travel minus the fancy gadgets and crazy scientists! But all this wonder and amazement is stopped abruptly at LAX where I stand in line for immigration for almost an hour and then queue again after I grab my bag for another 30-40 minutes. I'm pretty sure some people had missed their connecting flight because of the crazy way that you have to pick up your baggage, have it searched at customs and then RE-check it in for the next flight. So silly. Nevertheless I'm in LA baby!

So after around 3 hours I finally make it to the hostel in Hollywood by public transport. I'm desperate for a shower, jet lagged and all around pissed off. After settling in I decide to wander around Hollywood Blvd, as one does. It was hard to read the names of all the stars on the pavement whilst trying to avoid colliding into people. Found Bruce Lee, Nicole Kidman and this guy Bob Hawk...?? I'm pretty sure he was not Bob Hawke, the Australian politician but it confused me for a while.

After wandering for a while I end up at Mann's Chinese Theatre and take the last tour of the day with a guide from Canberra. There are seriously Aussies EVERYWHERE! The tour was pretty informative and good as I was the only one and she showed me some places where they usually don't take visitors. The theatre was decked out in some cool Chinese furniture and apparently the womens bathroom downstairs is haunted with a little girl running around. The mirrors in there are also slimming mirrors. I check out the footprints outside and the Harry Potter one was pretty awesome with some wand imprints. Similarly with Whoopi Goldberg who smushed in her dreds. Apparently Marilyn Monroe and Jane Russell wanted to imprint their butt or boobs but weren't allowed to ahaha!

After seeing what the fuss is all about in that area of town I head over to Popeye's chicken. As I walk in the guy at the check in desk also enters (Kevin) and he remembers me as I kinda help translate via charades and diagrams to these Chinese ladies. I grab myself 2 pieces of chicken for 99c, I know - so ridiculously priced, cajun fries and some Mountain Dew. I ask for the smallest drink and yep, they give me our large size. At least the drinks are not as sweet as they are here. He notices my surprised look and I explain the size difference. He laughs and points out a large size which would probably be the size of my head. The chicken is AWESOME. It's tender and juicy (even the chicken breast) and not too salty like KFC but spicy wasn't really spicy at all. The cajun fries were soooo good and well Mountain Dew is as always the best soft drink of all time. Kevin and I bond over Popeye's, video games, our plans for the zombie apocalypse and he vents about this guy who is staying at the hostel and is a pain the the arse.

Head back to the hostel, grab a MASSIVE rum and juice for $3 (my god alcohol is cheap here) before hitting the hay. Also on that note I'm pretty sure I saw a 1.25L vodka going for $10. Crazy.



Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Bob HawkBob Hawk
Bob Hawk

No not Bob Hawke!


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb