Strip Concert


Advertisement
Published: June 16th 1994
Edit Blog Post

Sunset Strip is at our feet. Problem is, we don't know where to go. No references, no recommendations, nada. So, when the scalper offers us tickets to a concert at the House of Blues, we accept the offer. House of Blues doesn't exactly look like the place you would expect to meet world class performers. It looks very worn down, filthy, ugly. That's probably the whole idea. And it happened to be the club closest to where we parked the car. Tonight's band is The Smithereens. I haven't heard of them. I don't think my friend has either. But they turn out to be a really good band, playing decent rock music.

A guy is standing in front of us, blocking my view. My friend tells me "That's Orup". I tell him "No, it's not". He insists "It is too". I don't believe him. I get the guy's attention, and call him over. "Are you Orup?" I ask him. And it turns out that this guy really is one of the most popular Swedish artist at the time.

Later we notice the remaining two guys of the trio GES exit the VIP room. Their World Cup Song would only a few weeks later make them immortal in Swedish pop culture. It was the summer of 94...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.31s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb