Warner Bros, Forest Lawn, Disneyland jan 2010


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles » Anaheim
January 7th 2010
Published: January 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Monday Jan 4, 2010 Warner Bros Studio and Forest Lawn

No alarm, had bkfst in room, then set out for “north” Hollywood (Burbank) - straight up I-5, not too much congestion. Got to WSB fairly easily and made the 11:40 tour ($45.00); guide was Tetris (yes, like the game). It's a “cart” tour, mostly riding, with some walking around inside (TV show - Chuck) and outside sets - lots of “this was filmed here, and that was filmed there.” A lot of it was about current TV shows that I don't watch, but enough other stuff thrown in that was fun (some Friends stuff that my daughter would enjoy)- went by the soundstage for The Mentalist (my favorite new show), alas no Simon Baker. Saw some props, some nifty movie vehicles, heard lots of interesting stories - overall, I enjoyed the tour (altho at the total cost of over $50.00, I wouldn't rate it as a “must-do.” It's about 2 ½ hours long, and they start about every 15-20 minutes. Parking lot is very close, just across the street; I think it was $7.00 to park. Had a really nice salad at the Cafe at the tour check-in building -
Friends Central Perks setFriends Central Perks setFriends Central Perks set

A smaller version set up in prop warehouse for tour groups to see
with employees (it's got good food at decent prices, not tourist junk). It's a huge complex; there seems to be a lot more cross-over among studios than we realize.

I went to the Glendale Forest Lawn, where my grandparents and aunt and uncle are interred (along with a lot of famous folks); they're in the Iris Terrace section of the Great Mausoleum (where the Last Supper window is); the Iris is not easy to find, but I was finally successful in finding them. It is a lovely place, in the middle of the city, residential area. (Yes, that is where 'MJ” is supposed to be, but I didn't ask or try to get close to that “secret” spot).

Then I had the usual nightmare parking lot freeway experience on I-5 getting back to Anaheim. One minor traffic incident really clogs things up. Picked up enough Panda Chinese food to last me several meals, for about the price of 1 or 2 Disney meals. Fell asleep quite early for me, even tho I took it kind of easy today.

Tuesday, Jan 5, 2010

Woke up early and off to a good start. Went to Denny's next door for bkfst, and it was just about a perfect bkfst - got me off to a good start. I wasn't sure about the park hours today, but since it's so close, I walked over to check it out. There was a line, so I figured it would be worth waiting. One of the “security”guides was skeptical about my seat cane, but I've been using it right along, with no other questions (except from people who want one - even cast members (aka Disney employees)), It was just a little after 8, but turned out to be a “Magic Morning” early entry, which my park hopper ticket included, so I waited and went in at 9 am (4th person thru the gate, no pre-show like WDW). Did several rides in the first hour, mostly the slow-loading ones in Fantasyland (Mad Tea Party, Mr. Toad's Wild Ride (excellent, can't believe they took it out of WDW), Alice, Dumbo, Storybookland boats), and Astro-Orbiter in Tomorrowland. Holiday overlay was still up on It's a Small World, but Haunted Mansion was closed (probably for the removal process). The new monorails look great, and I rode in front, round trip (to and from Tomorrowland.), I took
It's a Small World -- spectacular holiday overlayIt's a Small World -- spectacular holiday overlayIt's a Small World -- spectacular holiday overlay

Inside and outside have an extensive holiday overlay, with a great projection show every so often at night.
a lunch break and left the park -- my motel is really close - so unlike Disney World (WDW), which is much more spread out. Had Coldstone Creamery concoction for lunch!- mint ice cream, with brownie, choc chips, walnuts - so wrong on so many levels, and so yummy.

Went back to the park(s) and rode the train around, did Jungle Cruise (pretty much the same as WDW) and Winnie the Pooh (a lot different than WDW) then went across to Calif. Adventure and rode Soarin' again (I could do that one all day long; asked for (and got) gate B, row 1, which is the best experience, altho even the worst seat is fun - gate C right end of row 3, which is where I ended up from the singles line), watched the Pixar parade and left about 6 p.m., having completed a very full Disney day. Seems to be possible to cram a lot more into a day here compared to WDW - things are closer together. And, of course, it's not as crowded today, altho it's busier than I thought it might be, on a winter Tuesday when school is in session. Still having lovely weather.






Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb