Laguna Beach, California


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Laguna Hills
November 12th 2011
Published: November 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Laguna BeachLaguna BeachLaguna Beach

Laguna Beach Lifeguard Station
We arrived here in Laguna Beach last Wednesday. After a week here on the beach and enjoying exceptionally great weather; today it is 83 degrees, we have decided it is time to go to Arizona. We will leave here sometime in the morning for the 4.5 hour drive back to our home in Surprise, Arizona.
Laguna has been its usual wonderful self. Good weather, great shops, food, my family and friends. What a great mix.
We have been out to dinner with my cousin Walt who is kind enough to let us use his home while we visit and then all the family got together at my cousin Bruce's for a fabulous Paella dinner. As always it is a highlight to go back to Whittier where I was born and spent my younger years to spend time with my/our good friends Rick and Larry. I have known Rick since I was 13 and we were cheerleaders together in High school. As always we went to Manual’s for a wonderful Mexican dinner and I do mean wonderful. They are actually still frying their corn chips in lard....yes lard and it is so good! We made our usual sweep through town picking up
Laguna BeachLaguna BeachLaguna Beach

Paul out and about in Laguna
a dozen green burritos to freeze and take with us and six containers of Cheesy Toast spread that we get from the Steak Corral. OK, this trip is not only about good food, however, there have been some really great culinary experiences; it has been about seeing and spending time at all the beaches down HWY 1, the California Coast.
I have many girlfriends that I was hoping to visit, but it just did not work out that way. Probably because I was traveling with Paul, but I can always come and visit them here in Laguna as they are scattered around Southern California.
The shops in town are wonderful. There are lots of Mermaids to be found and those restaurants are endless. I have been going to the same shops since I was in my teens and nothing seems to have changed. It is a world of nice cars, California girls and trendy life in general.
We don’t think we could ever live here again as we do find LA too crowded and a bit overwhelming, but to come, park the car and relax at this beach is wonderful. It is such a walking community that we rarely use
Our beachOur beachOur beach

This is the small cove where we stay while visiting Laguna
our car. Paul and I take two hour walks up in the hills in the morning before returning to this beautiful spot on Fisherman’s Cove. One would think it was a private beach as there are just a few homes on it, but the locals know it and it is a joy to watch families, people learning to paddle surf and all the other beach goers as they enjoy the water, rocks and sea life that are here. I always feel like I am coming home as soon as we get off the freeway and head down through Laguna Canyon. When I see that beach, I have arrived
So there you have it. I have shared our trip coming down the California coast for the past five weeks. Fabulous fun and adventure. The trip exceeded our expectations making us thirsty for more travel in America. I am looking forward to being in a kitchen again, putting down some roots and living life here in Arizona.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Fishermans' CoveFishermans' Cove
Fishermans' Cove

The view from the condo we stay in.
Sunset Laguna BeachSunset Laguna Beach
Sunset Laguna Beach

Our view at sunset from the condo


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb