Back Home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Fremont
July 6th 2010
Published: July 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hey all. Thanks for reading my travel blog. I have now safely reached back home to America. Although with some hassel. My flight back home was longer this time since i didn't stop in Dubai for a week. If you know me, you know that i can't sit still for more than 10 minutes and I have to be shaking my leg or moving in some way. So the 10 hour flight and 15 hour flight soon after was definitely a challenge for me. This time I didn't have my friend Galen to play drinking games with so I filled my time watching movies and drinking wine. At the Dubai airport inbetween flights I juggled and played soccer by myself in the terminal using my mini skill soccerball. After checking into the gate I had to be patted down by security and everyone's bags were checked prior to boarding. I was made to deflate my mini soccer ball for security reasons. So sad. However, i was glad that they were doing such thorough searches since I was flying into the US on July 4th and after hearing Ohios dream about me dying in a plane crash I was a little uneasy about my flight.

I was able to book an emergency isle seat again on the flight from Dubai to SF. The awesome leg room and ability to get up and stretch right in front of my seat was definitely what kept me sane on the flight, along with the wine. Upon reaching the US I was one of the first people out of the plane and off to immigration. I was hoping to get through quick so I could make a family bbq back home. However, I was sent to a secondary immigration questioning where I was asked a ridiculous amount of questions about my job, my job title, my drivers license number, my social security, what cities i visitied, who i stayed with how i knew them, my cell phone number, etc. After intense questioning I finally was allowed to enter the baggage claim area where the baggage had been long circulating on the conveyor belt and all the luggage was stacked on the side. I quickly found my bag and walked over to customs. Reaching customs again I was told to see a desk, where I was asked the same questions AGAIN, followed by a complete search of all of my bags. It took me over an hour to get out of the airport after landing.

I was not too happy about spending so much time in the airport especially since I'm a US Citizen and I didn't see how after i've already reached the US why my bags needed to be searched.

At my family barbeque I was surprised by my "kamaljit" friends, which was awesome! Glad to have reached safely and be back with family and friends. Although I am a little lost being at work today and not being able to watch the game live at a bar or fan zone.... But I will try and watch in the evening with my family which should be awesome. But, I think a co-worker has already ruined the game for me.. garrhhhh.

Thanks for reading my Travel Blog for my trip. I hope you enjoyed it and hopefully you were able to bear the bad grammar. =)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb