Middle of no-where


Advertisement
Published: October 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I left Midpines and took a great drive right through Yosemite National Park. It is a very big place. I stopped frequently to take photos and admire the views. I left the park via Tioga pass which is 9941 feet above sea level.

The other side of Yosemite the desert starts. After decending from Yosemite, I reached Mono Lake that has strange calcerous tufa stacks that were formed at the vents of underground springs in the lake; it is a spectacular setting with the lake and the high snow-capped Sierras in the distance. As the lake level has dropped, the towers have been exposed. After lunch at the lake I headed towards Death Valley.

I decided to take the scenic route but was a little shocked when the pavement ran out. The dirt track seemed to go on a long time and I was pleased when I reached the other end without any punctures. The views i had of Death Valley though were great - it is a very dry place. I had a quick look round Scotty's Castle which a villa in the middle of the desert built by a millionare in the 1920's in the spanish revival style. Soon after a coyote stood in the road and refused to move. Eventually it did. I was pleased to have seen one and even more pleased not to have hit one. A couple in Yosemite showed the damage one had done to their car when they hit it.

I stopped in Beatty which is a small town in the middle of no-where. The hostel was closed for refurbishment so I took a motel room. It was exactly the sort of motel that you think of as an American motel. I wish I had taken a photo.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



1st November 2006

Eggggggggggcellent!
Was the Motel really like it is in all the movies? yes pictures were a must! I have looked thru your pictures and some of the views are amazing! Sounds like the beginning of the trip is going very well.
5th November 2006

Cheers
Cheers James. Going well so far, moving on out of Auckland today

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb