Death Valley


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Bishop
November 2nd 2006
Published: November 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

just checked into a Bates motel in California after driving throught he most striking place I've ever seen in Death Valley...travelling with what I'm sure will turn out to be lifelong friends in MAtt, Tim, Gemma and Caroline..they're Rock and Roll...Vegas Baby!!! We partied again till the small hours at a slower pace than the night before..even managed to get Moocha out even if it was his honeymoon....totalled up a league of Rock and Roll Alcohol units consumed..I came last,...blame Saturday wandering around in Santa Barbara where I fell behind the leaders..41 points...god knows how many units...Moocha came 3rd fair enough it was his wedding and all I think he had 50 points Tim on 56 points and the winner Matt Jackson 'Daniels' on 61 points..bit of contestation over points a few half points haggled here and there but almost fair...our last night in vegas we devised a new form of gambling in Moocha's Paris honeymoon sweet..7 guys 'BlackJack Daniels' here's how it works...revolving dealer...one card each..place a bet of fingers of alcohol..minimum ante of one finger of alcohol...another round of cards dealt face up...all other cards bar the dealers shown..twist and stick until the players a re happy and then dealers cards upturned..if he has BlackJack 'pontoon' then everybody has to drink whatever they have in front of them..if a player has Blackjack the dealer has to drink what he has in front of him (or her)...if the dealer beats the dealer with their cards the dealer has to drink what the initial bet was..minimum stick is sixteen...if the dealer beats teh player the player has to drink what's in front of him..Me and Kev came out worst...I had an eighteen inch Eiffel Tower vase of Margherita in front of me and Kev's Vodka shots took him over the edge..we polished off a handle between 7 of us in about an hour...then we hit old Vegas the lights in Fremont Street...classic stuff...felt the warm glow of the lightbulbs on my face as I wondered what the electricity bill is in a place like this...finally figured out that I'm only good at Poker tournaments and will stick to this in the future..,it's cheaper and more fun..word of advice don't buy a Coney Dog at a place called Mermaids on Fremont Street..to say it was cheap and cheerful would be doing the phrase an injustice it was 'cheap and nasty' in fact hideosu a horrible concoction of pink frankfurter, chili mince and cheese..it's a good job I'd polished off that Margherita or I really would have been ill...
Just came through Death Valley...man it's like being in a Sergio Leone film...couldn't help thinking of the homeless guy on London bridge wailing the good the bad and the ugly...going now to sweetalk some gas station owner into giving me some cashback as I have my visa card details memorized...wish me luck...next stop Yosemite Valley...the road is supposed to be closed as it is at 10000 feet...if we don't make it I leave my worldly possessions..which pretty much consists of my PRS tremonti guitar to medical science..that reminds me just signed up for a medical experiment to fund my way down teh Yellow Brick Road to Oz..don't try this at home kids..

Advertisement



2nd November 2006

marvelous behaviour
sounds like you're having a grand time lovely... I'm so jealous, it's just turned bloody cold here, gonna be a bit of a shock to your system when you get back, that and your having to cope without a constant supply of booze!!
3rd November 2006

OMG!
Abe, you have way too much time on your hand, heheehe :P Spend less time typing, and more time sight seeing!!! Who luv's ya baby! ;D

Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.103s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb