Meandering the Coastline


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Big Sur
June 27th 2015
Published: June 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 36.5552, -121.923

Day Two was rather action packed- much more so than expected. We just sort of wandered up and back down the coast doing one thing and then another whenever we felt like with no general plan. Chris and I have been to this area a lot on previous trips but it was fairly new for the others.

We started off the morning by heading to a couple of my favorite haunts in the area- Carmel-by-the-Sea and Point Lobos. We got coffee and window-shopped. For lunch, we picnicked at Point Lobos, one of my favorite nostalgic places. I grew up going here a lot with my mom on short hikes. We walked one of the trails along the rocks and water.

After that, we decided to head south again. We stopped at the Big Sur River Inn because we thought we could get coffee there. The hippie bus sells very, very basic (not really good) coffee. But it's sold in a NEAT BUS! And when I walked towards the river behind the hotel, I realized there were wooden chairs for lounging in the river!! My jaw-dropped and sprinted towards the badass chairs. It was a very relaxing way to enjoy my coffee, feet cooling in the water.

We headed further south and stopped at the Big Sur Taphouse, just down the road from our campground. A really neat place with an even neater Beer Garden out back. I highly recommend it.

For dinner we BBQed steaks and feasted!


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Big Sur River InnBig Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn

I literally sprinted when I discovered the chairs IN the river!


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb