Berkeley Haiku


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Berkeley
September 6th 2007
Published: September 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

i cross the bay bridge
the water a startling hue
a wind blows hard, fierce

***

the BART train is swift
I watch lights pass by; railway
screeches fill my ears

***

I have reached Berkeley
a friend of a friend offers
a couch; I lie down

***

compost in blue bins
lining sidewalks casually
it is custom here

***

people's park is free
folks come there to eat, play, nap
it is aptly named

***

In berkeley, some folk
know history; they have learned
to cherish freedom

***

Mickey raises worms;
they make soil; he says it is
the best stuff on earth

***

the farmers' market--
people come to enjoy food,
sun, and each other

***

in Oakland some folks
started the People's Grocery
healthy food for all

***

walking through the yard
I look around for my bike
I know it is gone

***

I have no camera
I can share only words here
so I write haiku

***

i had pictures of
Big Sur; now they are lost; it's
better seen first-hand

***

I glance at the booths
in the Ashby flea market
my bike is not there

***

I have found a bike
it needs some work, but it will
carry me farther

***

stuck in berkeley, now
all things will fall into place
I will leave here soon

***

Advertisement



6th September 2007

finding EYE in the crust
matt brother, i know and trust that u find opportunity fused with challenge, that sometimes loss is that which allows us to find. u are in a place of high spirit, north cali brings me warmth in remembrance. continue to soar and explore brother. i pray that u find the most EYE Vibrashun on ur search, and continue to allow what wishes to move thru u, do just so. unscrew the bottom of ur cup, and be free! u are beautiful and loved! with blessings, ur bro daniel
9th September 2007

Grateful
Matt..Each step of this journey has taught me over and over the meaning of "grateful". Now, I'm grateful that you've found the innerpeace to move on, and to put this "loss" behind you. I know you have what you need to grab your dream and make the goal happen. Continue to look for the signs and treasures in the forms of all the angels in your path who shower you with knowledge, comfort,, courage, strength, good fortune and mostly peace. May God and all His angels continue to hold you close. Thanks for writing.....Love most of all....
26th September 2007

How strong you are
I would have called mom and said "come get me" You inspire people by your journey. Good luck and if you ever need anything you know my number.

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb