Western Sierra Nevada


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Apple Valley
October 8th 2008
Published: October 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Northern CaliforniaNorthern CaliforniaNorthern California

The desert of norther California was quite a change from the densly forested parts of Oregon and Washington
My trip from La Pine into northern California was really pleasant. The landscape changed from densely forested area of southern Oregon into the high deserts of northern California. I went past a large stand of trees without a single leaf, I tried to take photos but none came out good enough to post here. I breathed a sigh of relief when I joined Interstate 5, but even though I was now on a four lane divided highway the road was very curvy and hilly; too much to use my cruise control! I was staying in Red Bluff which is just south of Redding. Both named because the soil is very red. There are acres and acres of olive groves that give way to rice paddies, alternating with groves of some sort again all the way to Sacramento.
At Sacramento I turned east to Pollock Pines and Lake Tahoe. Driving through Sacramento was something else!! They have three turning lanes; NOBODY stops when the traffic lights turn to red! It was a little nerve wracking to say the least. Pollock Pines is on the western side of the Sierra Nevada Mountains at about 5000’. Ghost Mountain Resort is about 4 miles out
Mount ShastaMount ShastaMount Shasta

Another volcano in the chain along the west coast of this continent; Mount Shasta is still active and is certain to erupt again. Although we might not see it---its last eruption was 9400 years ago. It rises 12330' and 14162' is above sea level.
of town but along a very narrow road with a one lane bridge. I am not excited about driving out, but plan to leave VERY early to avoid meeting any vehicles coming in the opposite direction! The park itself is beautiful; it is called Ghost Mountain because it is a deserted old gold miner’s camp. The reconstructed old town on the property comes alive each weekend and attracts visitors from all over the area, the leather shop sells chaps, vests, spurs and boots and I could even ride a horse if I was inclined to do so!
This area is known as Apple Hill. I don’t think there is a strain of apple that is not grown here, so the orchards have got together and created a tourist attraction. There are traditional orchards where you can buy apples by the bushel or box; then there are farms that let you pick your own, in concert with their commercial business. A lot of the farmers not only grow apples but pears, peaches and various berries too. I actually saw hops growing at one of the vineyards. A scenic drive of about eighteen miles takes you past 46 orchards or vineyards and
Ghost Mountain RanchGhost Mountain RanchGhost Mountain Ranch

Located high in the hills about 40 miles east of Sacramento
six Christmas tree farms. Each orchard has a gift shop of some sort where you can buy anything from homemade crafts, jams and jellies to ornamental flags. Almost all have great bake shops. Needless to say I had to buy a couple of pieces of apple pie!
Lake Tahoe is really beautiful, very touristy and commercial, lots of restaurants with lake views etc. but scenically lovely. I enjoyed my day there. I saw some beautiful scenery, a bear, a snake, and spawning kokanee salmon.
P.S. For Crater Lake
My brother in law, Len asked me if there were any fish in Crater Lake and I thought maybe somebody else had wondered, so here’s the info.
“Originally Crater Lake contained no fish. Between 1888 and 1941 however, 6 species were introduced. Today, only 2 types remain: rainbow trout and kokanee salmon.” There is only about ¼ mile of rocky shoreline for fishing…….and who would want to carry all their tackle down 1000’ to drop a line in the water? Only artificial lures and flies are allowed, there are no restrictions on the size, number or species taken, and cleaning the fish at lakeside is not permitted; all of which tells me
Ghost TownGhost TownGhost Town

These buildings have been restored and moved onto the ranch.
a big catch is unusual.



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Wild TurkeysWild Turkeys
Wild Turkeys

There was all kinds of wild life around the ranch, I saw a fox and heard a coyote howling. This flock of turkeys wandered around at will.
Apple HillApple Hill
Apple Hill

All of the orchards have some sort of cottage industry in tandem with fruit growing. I thought these lawn ornaments were cute
SquashSquash
Squash

So colourful at this time of year. A lot of the orchards had a pumpkin patch.
JunkJunk
Junk

My Welsh grandmother's brother owned a market garden business; he could never throw anything out either. This place reminded me of him.
Lake TahoeLake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe

Quite beautiful
DerbyshireDerbyshire
Derbyshire

Some of the scenery around Lake Tahoe reminded me of Derbyshire only on a bigger scale
Emerald BayEmerald Bay
Emerald Bay

A beautiful spot
Pine ConePine Cone
Pine Cone

The size of the cone is indicitive of the tree
Sawning SalmonSawning Salmon
Sawning Salmon

There were hundreds of these Kokanee salmon spawning in one of the streams running into the lake. I thought Kokanee was just a brand of Canadian beer, now I know better!
Bear RestaurantBear Restaurant
Bear Restaurant

The river bed above this point is very sandy and the salmon's spawn can't survive so the NPS have installed a mesh gate in the stream to stop the salmon creating a feast for the bear!


Tot: 0.219s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 17; qc: 70; dbt: 0.105s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb