200 days to go


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arkansas » Springdale
March 7th 2014
Published: March 23rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Snow and Ice is problematic , # of miles walked this week has been pitiful . Something like 10 total

Flash back to 2012 . I weighed 290 lbs smoked 12 packs of Salem daily, and received weekly love notes from the Jim Beam company plus I had a bad back ( actually these last two are exaggerations but you get the idea ) . Now , today . I weigh 240 lbs, haven't had a cigarette , no longer drink and after 27 sessions of therapy for a bulging disk it's feeling good. WHOOP! Dam I am good. Now I just need to get my 68 yr old body up to 60 yr old standards I will be Buen Camino-ing .

If you don't know what Buen Camino-ing is it's a Pilgrim greeting .. Here's how it works . If you ,as a pilgrim ,pass a fellow pilgrim while on the Camino it's appropriate to say out loud to them " Buen Camino!" meaning something like " Good Road" or "Safe Trip". One of the reasons we are going in late September is to get away from having too many Pilgrims to say this to. The crowded months I hear are April through August. There's other reasons for going in September too , for one it's cooler , Laurie hates walking in the heat , me too but not quite as intense as her. Another is it coincides with my vacation schedule bundling two weeks from year 2014 with all my 2015 vacation ( 4 weeks) and also bed availability. I hear from many fellow pilgrims that have walked the talk that there is a silent race to the pillow happening . People when they get out of bed in the Hostiles, slip out quick and head out so they are among the first to arrive to the next place to stay . This insures there's a bed to sleep in at the end of the day's trail. Imagine planning a life time event , travel around the world , spend thousands of dollars , then rush from village to village to be first to have a bed?? .. What the heck is THAT all about?

I've added some photos here that show a local road that we walk almost daily



5.5 mi between 4 and 6:30 pm .. its 9:00 pm now . I'm bushed.

Advertisement



2nd September 2014
20140312_164118

Arkansas
I am from Wynne family in Rogers and best friend who is meeting me leaves in Elm Springs I was I your area in late May...Springdale, Elm Springs and Rogers small world!
3rd September 2014
20140312_164118

Arkansas
Janice,, Yes it is a small world! Thanks for posting :)

Tot: 0.341s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb