jiggety jog


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arkansas » Jonesboro
July 31st 2013
Published: August 1st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Well, we are home now. Welcome to the heat and humidity that keeps us locked in our AC edifices. I really want to go back to the West Coast. It is the most beautiful coastline and I was blessed to ride it. Funny how when you ride a motorcycle people come and talk with you. They don't do that when you drive in a car, do they? I have met some incredibly interesting people through my motorcycle travels. I guess you could say looking at America through a face shield gives it a certain beauty not found in a "cage". As we passed fields of fragrant lavender and such you can smell more vividly than enclosed in a 'cage". We had incredible weather but it did not snow on us this time. Since I crossed the States from coast to coast I find the weather is disturbing. The snow that should have been on the top of the mountains in Colorado was not there. The glaciers are also receding and the streams are not as full. I have been an environmentalist since the 70's but I have never been as concerned as I am now. I was in states that had almost no litter on their roads and were avid recyclers. I felt at home in those states and ate fruit with no pesticides by the pound! The only problem I had was with Californians trying to run over me. Look folks, I have an Arkansas license plate, give me a break. Keep the rubber side down and happy trails to all. RATS are off the road for now.

Final mileage: 8589. Not as much as I had envisioned back in early June but we had more "smelling of the roses". Fuel costs will be added to this later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 14; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb