Hysterical Journey to Historic Places


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Tucson
September 9th 2013
Published: September 9th 2013
Edit Blog Post

GRANDKIDSGRANDKIDSGRANDKIDS

Gramma, Amber, Rachel, Kyleigh, Alex
THE HAIR OF THE DOG



The dog returns to his vomit,



The hog returns to his mire.



And the poor fool’s bandaged finger,



Wanders unerringly back to the fire.







I left the army an angry man and lacking in the maturity to set myself upon a productive course through life as a civilian. I was angry at The World because they did not see the Vietnam War as I saw it; an opportunity to advance the people of South Vietnam. I was angry at our political leadership for bungling the war effort in every way they possibly could have. It never should have been a fight so much as a civic action program in which the infrastructure was improved and schools and hospitals were built. I was angry at the army because after Xom Tam I could never find a niche in it as a powderman or even as a heavy equipment operator. For thirty glorious years daily drunkenness driven by my immaturity and my obsessive/compulsive disorder became a lifestyle objective. Ladies, going through life fat, drunk and stupid is not the pathway to success that one might hope for. Had the OCD taken me off in another direction perhaps I could have accomplished amazing things in the thirty years that I listened to the Hooch Bird sing. A different direction in my life’s path would have taken me away from where I have ended up though, and I would not likely have played a part in the lives of such great grandkids. You kids are the light of my life and I will always love you dearly. I am glad that I followed a road that brought me to you; misdirected as it might have been.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb