The low-down.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Tucson
August 11th 2008
Published: August 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, I've been job hunting. This has been my quest: to find a secure job that will give me enough hours and at least $8 an hour.

Of course you all heard about the coffee cart on campus. That place is called "Common Grounds" and it seems pretty relaxed. I'll be working this little kiosk-type of thing that is set up outside one of UA's more popular buildings. I guess how it works is I'll be riding my bike down to the warehouse (about 2 miles away) and loading up a bunch of coolers with milk and other supplies. I will then be loading these coolers into a golf cart type of thing that I will drive to campus. The kiosk gets busy every half hour or so. See, the classes work on the 45 minute interval, or something, so when everyone's in class, I'll be bored as hell. But it seems DECENTLY similar to My Friend Joe.

My next, and primary job, is a courtesy clerk at Sunflower Farmers Market.

http://www.sfmarkets.com/retailer/store_template /shell_id_1.asp?storeID=69610B99DE2C416A84CC8693150E7216

So this place is really neat. It's like Whole Foods, but back when the business was JUST expanding. So it's really neat, really healthy type stuff, and a good group of people. And, like, a 4 mile bike ride to get there... which I will enjoy!

Oh, I also have a job interview with the UPS store on Tuesday after my training with Common Grounds. This is good because A) I will have something to do on Tuesday and B) I might be able to pick up even MORE hours!
_________________________________________________________________________________

Aside from the job stuff, I haven't really been doing much. Listening to a lot of music (more so than normal). I've been dabbling into older stuff that I haven't really given much of a chance, i.e., Jimi Hendrix, Neil Diamond, The Doors and not-so-popular Beatles and Beach Boys. It's been giving me some sort of comfort, for some reason.
_________________________________________________________________________________

Now, something for you New England Patriot fans.

First off, I hate you... but I understand.

You worked for a solid 4 months on a team that you KNEW would be perfect, and you had it in your head the entire time, "19-0, 19-0, 19-0". And you watched as your dream evolved and evolved; game by game. There were certainly some speed bumps (Philadelphia, Baltimore and New York), but you pushed on and you pulled through. With dedicating your heart and your mind towards that goal, the goal of that perfect season, you made it through.

Then came the Super Bowl. This is the moment that you thought everything would fall into place and things would be as you dreamed it; the perfect season. The perfect team, the perfect record, the perfect everything; this would have been yours, New England.

But then came along The Giants.

Now, New England, while you guys have the strength, and size and history of winning in scenarios like this - it just wasn't enough. The Giants ousted The Patriots in one thing; just ONE thing - heart.

Like I said, I sympathize for you Patriot fans, but sometimes people like The Giants need a win.

I'm rooting for The Giants today.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb