Quick Get-together


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Sedona
February 17th 2007
Published: October 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Kitchen in our suiteKitchen in our suiteKitchen in our suite

Maggie, Megan, and I
The second weekend in February my good friends Miky and Maggie Gedebou invited Megan and Matt Dean and myself for a reunion weekend in Sedona. The Gedebous, visiting from Maryland, were returning to Sedona for the first time since their marriage in August 2003. It was the first weekend get-away for the couple since the birth of their second child and it was also the first opportunity since the Dean’s wedding in 2005 for all of us to spend quality time together.

Per usual, I experienced a delay on my American Airlines flight from Washington, DC. I arrived in Phoenix tired and approximately two hours late but confident I would arrive in Sedona for dinner. I followed MapQuest directions because I had not driven to Sedona for several years and did not want to try to guess how to get to our resort. Everything seemed familiar until I became turned around at the Interstate 17 exit at Cottonwood. By the time I realized that I should not be driving towards Payson, I was 15-20 miles off course with no idea where I was. I, as an Arizona native, was extremely frustrated, exhausted from my early morning flight from DC, and
Sedona in FebruarySedona in FebruarySedona in February

Miky and Maggie at their wedding spot
the icing on the cake was that my cell phone battery was nearly dead. I called the Gedebous, intending to cancel the trip but my fantastic friends refused to let me give up. Matt applied extraordinary patience and talked me back on the right route-- EXIT 298- toward Sedona/Oak Creek Canyon. Thankfully, spending the evening with the two M&Ms was worth the chaos of getting there!

All of us squeezed into a suite at the Sedona Pines Resort . Sedona Pines is a new resort
off of west highway 89A near Red Rocks Park and Amphitheater . The suite was great: clean, nice décor, big bathroom with a beautiful shower, and a small kitchen. We spent the evening talking and enjoying libations until we all crashed out while trying to watch a movie.

The next morning we parted ways after breakfast at the Coffee Pot Restaurant: where the wait was long and ultimately the company was a lot better than my eggs benedict. The Deans and I headed to Prescott and the Gedebous out to their wedding spot.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb