On to the Next Thing


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Prescott
September 18th 2014
Published: September 18th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I've spent the summer visiting my parents in Arizona again. After not making the trip last year, I was glad I could this year. There haven't been any big adventures or side trips, but it's been a nice trip none the less. I've gotten to spend time with my family, catch up on best sellers, eat my weight in cheese, enjoy a Law and Order marathon or two on cable, and of course, play with clay. My aunt and uncle also visited for my birthday, which was a special treat since I haven't seen them in a few years.

But now it's time to head out for my next big adventure. Back to Asia, but not Thailand. I've found a really great job with better benefits and I'm on the move.

Malaysia, here I come!


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Beer!Beer!
Beer!

At a 100+ year old bar. With my favorite dad.
Great views all aroundGreat views all around
Great views all around

But these wide open spaces confused this city girl.
A favorite brunchA favorite brunch
A favorite brunch

In a 100+ year old former stage coach stop.
View while dining outView while dining out
View while dining out

Yep, those are mountains in the distance
Cake!Cake!
Cake!

For me! It also made a very good breakfast.
Tray I madeTray I made
Tray I made

This one was actually special order by a lovely couple in the area. The paw prints are made from casts taken from the puppies' feet! I still can't believe she let me do this.
I love how this turned outI love how this turned out
I love how this turned out

I had a lot of fun making this one.
The local glass blower and jewelry makerThe local glass blower and jewelry maker
The local glass blower and jewelry maker

She let us come and watch her while she explained some of her techniques. A fascinating afternoon!
Adding a twist of glassAdding a twist of glass
Adding a twist of glass

First she made the twisted glass with two sticks. Then she applied it to a bead she was making. Mind blowing. Pun intended.
Molding the beadMolding the bead
Molding the bead

Yep, it's glowing hot! And, as I learned, cool glass and hot glass look exactly the same.
A view to drink beer toA view to drink beer to
A view to drink beer to

The mountains of Flagstaff, great light, fabulous clouds.


19th September 2014

I'm going to miss your stories about Thailand...
but look forward to your wrap up blog and those about Malaysia as I have fond memories of that country too. I went to high school in the Cameron Highlands for two and a half years. You will have to visit there for cool weather...a former British Hill Station. The school, Dalat International School, is now on the north end of Penang Island, another wonderful destination. Where will you live and what is your job?
25th September 2014

Congrats
Congrats!!! So excited to read about your new adventures in KL.

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb