The Best Part of Travel


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Phoenix
May 27th 2014
Published: May 27th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Well Im starting on a new adventure today ,writing a blog! I'm excited and intimidated. I'm not a writer or a tech savvy person. But what I am is a flaneur/traveler,one who loves to wander,see, learn,meet ,do ,paint and tell stories. So I'll begin!

I'll leave for the beautiful Northwest in about a month ,specifically a small town in Washington state called Bellingham. I've rented a flat there for two months and plan to let my days unfold as they will in a gorgeous and cool environment. I don't know anyone up there and haven't been there before but that's part of the joy of the journey.

I'm now researching on the net things to do and places to see ,not the touristy stuff ,though there will be little of that ,but the off the beaten path places...farms ,gardens ,studios, shops ,forests ,waters,mountains and seas. Just writing about it brings me joy.

The planning for a trip has always been the best part of travel for me. Not with the thought of "ticking off the boxes" of things seen and done,but the exploring and discoveries of things to be revealed when I get there. There are always surprises.

Then when the trip really begins,the planning takes a wayback seat and I enjoy the ride ,wherever it may take me .Sometimes I stumble on things reviewed but mostly not,and there in lies the other "best" part of travel!

So stay tuned,Ill share once a week the places and happenings I find on the net and eagerly await the start of my trip.

Thanks for sharing this adventure with me!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb