pre-flight


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Phoenix
August 25th 2008
Published: August 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

fruitfruitfruit

A bowl of fruit.
Hello everybody! I'm going to try and keep this updated as often as possible so all of you can track my progress as I explore Würzburg, Germany, Europe, and the World. I leave tonight from Sky Harbor airport and will arrive in Philadelphia tomorrow morning. One particularly relevant detail is that I got a new camera, which will be useful for recording my journey. For those of you who don't know, I have pretty crummy luck when it comes to cameras and international travel. In Hungary two summers ago, I lost my camera while visiting in a tiny church village (or maybe when I tumbled out of the back of a horse-drawn cart as we left the village). The replacement for that camera was sadly squashed as a wall-mounted speaker came crashing down on it. The broken camera was later the sole casualty (apart from an equally-missed pack of AA batteries) of a cat burglary over Thanksgiving break last year. So, here's hoping this camera fares better than the last.

Perhaps some background is in order...
Friday night was spent saying goodbye to all my friends in Tucson, and playing one last time with Breadbrick, for a while at least.
sistersistersister

A bowl of sister.
Saturday I decided to take it easy before getting ready for my trip, so I just took some GREs and ate a going away present (thanks Arco! It was so good I didn't need the napkin. Or fork. Or plate. I kinda scarfed it. Very appreciatively, of course.) I spent most of last night and this morning packing, and celebrating my twin sisters' birthday as well as a belated birthday of my own. Now to finish packing and hit the skies. Until we meet again.

Robert

P.S. I really wanted to test out the new camera, so here's is a picture of my parent's cat, and the first cat I ever loved, Cocoa.

P.P.S. I was planning on taking a picture of the cat, but I couldn't find her. I hope you will not feel too cheated if I instead include a picture of a) a bowl of fruit and b) my sister.

Advertisement



27th August 2008

The first lost camera...
I can still envision your spectacular tumble from that spine-compressing cart in Romania and the extensive search for your camera, led by a village mayor and a circuit-riding minister, that ensued. Not much fun for you, though you took the loss (and your bruises) with good grace. Great anecdotal value; I hope you don't have occasion to narrate a sequel!

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0308s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb