Grand Canyon --- Havasupai prep


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Grand Canyon
October 12th 2012
Published: October 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

my little postcardmy little postcardmy little postcard

if you look to the bottom right you'll see the pedestrian bridge that connects me from this mountain to the next one. It's a nice little playground, isn't it?
My toenails are cut and swiped free of any polish (they hate being naked by the way), calluses are built up and expensive socks are packed in backpack AND duffle bag. My feet, calves, thighs, and, hopefully, knees are ready for the trek down the canyon and then, a few days later, back up (I once walked Bright Angel trail with a friend. We only did 1/2 the trail, and I was ready to sell my soul to the devil just so I wouldn't have to climb back up. This one is the full deal, heaven help us all). I've been training since I came back from Ireland, which hasn't been easy. You see in Ireland, as a tourist, it was easy to get soft around the edges --- a whole lot of deep-fried food and beer (oh god bless a good fried cod and a Guiness). Then there was the shock of going back to an insanely-busy work world in the heat of Phoenix.

Do you have any idea of how hard it is to hike little mountains in 100-plus heat? After a hard --- make that very hard --- day's work? But, Joe and I have been doing
more hot air than me...more hot air than me...more hot air than me...

One of the coolest things about living here is the hot air balloons that go up just about every morning (well except for during the hot season). There were around 5 in the air this particular morning, but I've hiked with a dozen floating by.
this at least three times a work week and on weekends (but that's not so bad because we get up early to do it then) since August. I'm not gonna lie; there were a whole lot of times I HATED it. I don't like climbing a hot, dusty, way-too-flippin-rocky mountain after a stressful day of work. I really don't like doing it when it's like 110. Because it was hell on my feet and knees I had to invest in a knee brace and very expensive hiking socks (actually the runner socks work best, but still who in the hell pays $13 for one pair of socks? um, well, I do now). There were a few days where I just wanted to quit mid climb because seriously this was insane. All just so I could make my way back up after playing in a waterfall or two. How ultimately retarded is that?

BUT, somewhere along the line I grew to love the hikes. I'm sure it has nothing to do with the fact that the temperatures dropped a bit --- thank every god on earth and the heavens for that one! Seriously, on Tuesday I took an early-morning six-mile
no this isn't from the Mars Roverno this isn't from the Mars Roverno this isn't from the Mars Rover

luckily, it was around 7 a.m. when I snapped this photo, but imagine walking this stuff much, much later in the day. Oh and for the record, sweating your ass off doesn't literally do the trick.
hike all by myself amongst two mountains. I freakin loved it and barely broke a sweat. It was just me and mother earth and the hot-air balloons that hovered over me, and the birds and lizards and, well, all the wonders that come with just walking amongst ancient rock.

Joe pointed out that in three days I've hiked over 25 miles (nothing to a youngster, but to an almost-50 fatty it's freakin awesome). How cool is that? My ass is still jiggly, but my feet are freakin ape claws. I have muscels above and below my freshly-grown toe corn. Sadly, most of the muscles are on my feet and calves, but people I have muscles and stamina --- way more than I ever gained sweating it out on the eliptical at the gym. And, this weekend, I will use them to spend two nights in a Native American village at the bottom of the Grand Canyon. I will play and swim amongst some of the most impressive falls on the planet.

I can bitch and moan about whatever it is I bitch and moan about, but to be totally honest I know I am one lucky girl. I
Oh say can you see...Oh say can you see...Oh say can you see...

someone planted a flag at the top of one of my 'training' mountains. I wonder if it was in honor of a military member, or was it simple American pride. Either way it's a nice thing to catch my breath to.
am getting ready to tick off one more dot on my "I've always wanted to do this" list. And all I have to do to get there is walk --- a whole lot of walking, but it truly is just one foot in front of the other type shit. Again, I am one lucky soul. I climb out of the canyon Monday and go back to work Tuesday (wont' feel so lucky then), so it may take a few days before I post pics, but I sense I'll be back with some awesome photos.

Joe doesn't get to do his hike until November, so I'll be back to hiking after work (to help him train for his big adventure). We've promised ourselves to keep up this routine so that we can go on more hiking adventures (oh I saw a trip in Peru that includes hiking to Machu Pichu --- forgivie my spelling --- which just happens to be another dot on my list. Come on lottery ... Mama needs to buy some new hiking boots and a plane ticket!) Why is it that the best places to see are the ones we get to on foot? and who
my hoodmy hoodmy hood

yep I live somewhere down there.
would have ever thought my ape feet would one day be a blessing?


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0729s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb