Day 20: Grand Canyon


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Grand Canyon
January 17th 2012
Published: January 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Woke up pretty early today after a horrible night's sleep. The air here is just so dry that your throat is always sore. I would have had over 1L of water to drink through the night. Anyway, this morning was helicopter morning! We arrive at the helipad and got weighed so our flight was balanced. I was put with Myra, Rachel, Sharron and two random people. The flight was amazing, it was so good to see the Grand Canyon like that. It was just awesome as we crossed over the rim for the first time to see the ground just drop away. The flight itself was a bit rough. Myra had warned me that she might have to grab my hand as she wasnt the best flyer. At one point as we were leaving the vcanyon the helicopter lurched towards a wall. If Myra didnt grab my hand first, I probably would have grabbed hers, it was a bit scary.

Once we got back I decided to walk the rim trail. I started from the lookout point we were at last night and tried to walk back to the hotel. The first section of the walk was really pretty with some amazing views, but after the first information centre along the trail, the path became kind of set back from the rim which was disappointing. I decided to take the shuttle back to the hotel as I wasnt feeling the best anyway.

Had lunch at the cafe at the lodge for about 2 hours, just kicking back and talking to people from the group before we decided to head out and see sunset. We left WAY too early, got out there about an hour and a half before sunset and had to wait in the freezing cold. No one made sunset, we just couldnt stand it. Got back to the lodge and had dinner, then headed to bed around 8pm. I was so tired and feeling a bit unwell so I really needed the rest.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0858s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb