Sunset at the Grand Canyon


Advertisement
Published: July 3rd 2002
Edit Blog Post

11hrs drive from San Diego is the Grand Canyon, we got there at about 7pm - we travelled along route 66. Stopped at a real live diner in a place called Needles. The Hungry Bear, and the big portions of food would have certainly attracted bears in Yosemite.

The Canyon itself is about 5-6000ft deep and very impressive - I doubt the photos of it I have taken will do it justice - your sense of depth perception just gets totally screwed - every thing beyond a certain distance looks completely flat, 2D, like you could almost just step out right into it. That's also known as the 12 second tour - the time it takes to fall to the bottom. I witnessed one of the best sunsets I have ever seen, must be all the dust from the desert, my camera ran out of batteries at the most beautiful bit so you'll just have to take my word for it. We could have stayed longer, or could have hiked down a bit, I didn't feel the need after all the hiking in Yosemite, and so we did the Grand Canyon the American way - drove from view to view - stepped out of the car and went on to Las Vegas.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

The Grand Canyon RimThe Grand Canyon Rim
The Grand Canyon Rim

Just before my batteries ran out :(


24th April 2011

I love your observations
I am enjoying hearing you talk about America and all the things you have uncovered. Sounds like you had a nice trip.

Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0175s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb