ARIZONA OR BUST!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Camp Verde
March 8th 2023
Published: March 8th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Preparations have been going on for a while now for my departure on March 16. I keep having to jump hurdles - first snowstorms when I’m trying to get the motorhome out of the barn; next the van won’t start. I mean really won’t start - despite the fact that I started it regularly over the winter and let it run to keep the battery charged. Even a jump start won’t keep it going. As soon as the booster cables were removed, it quit. SO…tow truck to take it to Eichenbergs for a check up. Seems like it’s either a defective battery or alternator. It was so sad to see my disabled baby slowly trailing behind the tow truck. But better now than when I’m going through a desert in the South West. I thought I would have it sitting in the driveway and all decked out ready to go a week ago. But in the meantime, I am watching the temperatures in Arizona and getting my clothes and food ready so when the van comes home from the hospital I’ll have everything ready to go in.

Malika is being trained to go in the car. She is absolutely terrified of going out the side door. Once she’s in the car she settles down and lays on the back set - not happy but resigned to at least riding quietly. She runs and hides when I get my coat out of the closet so I have to trick her to think I’m not really going out. I could make a reality show out of the rigamarole of getting her into the car. The first few times she tore holes in my coat and flayed my skin as I fought her out the door. It is marginally better now but still a major event.

One week from tomorrow I leave - I hope nothing more happens to slow my progress and cause me severe anxiety. Once I’m on the road I’ll be a happy camper but until then keep your fingers crossed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.342s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb