Seward Alaska


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Seward
August 3rd 2012
Published: August 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Drove from Kenai to Seward yesterday. Cloudy, misty day. Yesterday afternoon, Charlie, Ruth, Jim and I drove from our RV park to Seward which is about 6 miles away. I tried to take some pictures but it was too overcast. Today was a comletely different day. Sunny and beautiful. Was about 54 when we got up today. Probably got to 60 today. Jim, Charlie and Jerry went on a hike to Exit Glacier in Kenai Fjords National Park. Jim said that it was about a mile uphill. He said it was an enjoyable hike. I am attaching pictures that he took there. I had one of the nicest evenings of my entire trip tonight. I got to visit with two of my cousins, Vickie and Linda here in Seward. Their dad and my dad were brothers. Unfortunately, their father died at the young age of 32 of a heart attack My dad died from a heart attack at age 45. They lived here in Alaska when there father died. I had not seen them since they were small except for a family reunion a few years ago. When we were in Homer, I tried calling Vickie (she lives in Homer) and her daughter said that she was in Seward working on the train. So, when we got here last night, I was able to talk to her and made plans for dinner this evening. Vickie and Linda work on the train that service all of the cruise ships that come into Seward. They are like flight attendants on the train. Each car has its own chef and one attendant like Vickie and Linda. Vickie said that they could have 20 tables with a total of 80 people. That would keep you hopping. They usually have one or two days off a week - it's according to which cruise ships are coming and what days they are coming in. Some days, like tomorrow, they have to be on the train at 1:30 a.m. and I believe she said they then went to Whittier to pick up crew. By the time they get their passengers and get back to Seward, it is 10:30 p.m. Long day. They have been doing this since May 8 and will continue until September 21. This is Linda's 4th year and Vickie's 1st year. She said she enjoyed it but probably wouldn't do it again as she misses being at home in Homer. Linda brought a photo album of really great pictures of Alaska. Really enjoyed seeing pictures of their families, fish they had caught, a hugh moose, black bear and many others.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb