awesome weather for a bike ride


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Juneau
June 13th 2010
Published: June 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Besides the past three days, we have had awesome weather here in Juneau this summer. It has definitely been an active one for me working 6 days a week and trying to get out on my one day off. It wears me out and makes the time go by quick, but it has also helped me make the most of this -- my last summer here in Juneau. There have been several ups and downs and difficulties, but in the end, it's all totally worth it and I'm still pretty happy.

The past couple weeks have gone by quickly and can't believe that it has been a whole month since graduation. It has been busy with my trip to Fairbanks for the EPSCoR conference, working at Glacier Gardens Rainforest Adventure, hanging out with my friends, and preparing for graduate school. I still can't believe that I'm actually a graduate student, it's almost a little unreal but I'm sure reality will set in soon! 😊 I did get all signed up for my graduate classes: Population Genetics, Statistics for Bio Majors, and Professional Development. A busy schedule but not too intense...hopefully! And I've been trying not to think about leaving Juneau for good. That day is coming up in about a month and a half, but right now I'm going to enjoy the time I am here.

Well last weekend, I was feeling a little down so my friend Sara invited me to a friends to go drink a beer and hit golf balls into the ocean. Not the most "ocean-friendly" thing to do, but it was fun! =) Before that, Melissa and I went out onto Douglas one sunny day after work and went fishing. We didn't catch much besides flounder and double-uglies (aka Pacific staghorn sculpin), but it was so nice to be outside. We also got some excellent pictures of a nice big waterfall. Since it was still sunny and gorgeous the next day, Melissa and I loaded up our little mountain bikes and headed out the road to the Herbert glacier (goat mountain trail). It was about 4 miles to the beach where you can get a nice shot of the Herbert Glacier and the path was relatively flat most of the way. I actually really enjoyed the ups and downs where you pedal really fast, then coast, pedal fast, then coast. It was much more fun than the constant flat areas. About 3.75 miles there, we had to ditch the bikes by the trail and walk because it got kind of narrow and rocky. So we walked in bear country as the hot sun beat down. It was a pretty warm day in Juneau and we got a little eaten alive as we wore our shorts and capris and t-shirts. I think Melissa got eaten way more than I did though with about 15-20 mosquito bits all over her feet and legs. When we got to the beach, it was great to see the glacier face and a proud moment. We stayed there for about ten minutes before wandering back where we had come from since we were having dinner with Robert that night. Sadly, a bit ago we said goodbye to Robert. It was super hard and I just broke down for about two days missing my sensitive best friend. 😞 sigh...I miss him but I know he's going to have an awesome time in Peru digging up skeletons in Archaeology field school.

Well that first bike trip was a couple weekends ago, but felt awesome. So I decided last night that I'd go on a bike ride today (my only day off) since I got my new toy on Friday. Before I went totally broke and talked myself out of it, I got myself a GMC Denali road bike for my college graduation present. It is going to be an excellent commuter bike for Michigan and one fit for a graduate student -- much better than the rusted mountain bike although my mountain bike has been a pretty good one too. Well the ride today turned out to be a nice one. It started it off by sleeping in until 9:30a.m. Yes...9:30 is officially sleeping in now! 😊 hehe. Well I heard some noise coming from the living room so knew my old roomy (who was crashing on the couch) was up so I laid there for a bit listening to the noise from her movie then got up to go say good morning. After putting in my contacts, I frowned at the wind but decided it wasn't going to stop me from taking my new toy out for a ride. I threw on some blue jeans, my North Pole t-shirt, brushed my teeth, rounded up some water and my mp3 player, loaded up my new Denali road bike on my Focus, then took off for Lisa's to get a wrench.

It's always nice to start the morning with a talk to Lisa, a nice big hug with the dog Buddy, and I met her friend Tori who is new to Juneau. Tori was awesome and told me all about bikes, giving me some advice about the brakes and talking about how she was liking the area but really missing her boyfriend who is working down in Ketchikan. After a good cup of coffee, Steve and I wandered down to the garage to find a wrench. We ended up not needing one in the end to adjust the bike, but it was still nice to see them all. Before I left, Lisa and Tori tried to woo me with pie, but I resisted. In the end, I left with a small jar of strawberry rhubarb jam and headed to the Brotherhood Bridge Trail (Montana Creek/Mendenhall River trail).

It was about 2 and 1/4 miles to the River Road parking lot. I unloaded my newly adjusted road bike, popped in the headphones, snapped a picture or two, then took off. My new little bike just shot down the trail like a breeze. It was such a great feeling to just have your hair blowing behind you and refreshing to be outside. I guess I'm outside all day at Glacier Gardens, but nice not to have to talk as I road by the Spruce trees and mountain ash. I was very proud that I learned how to brake properly and didn't hit any dogs or little children on the trail with me. After I biked to the River Road entrance, I decided to head back since I need to invest in a helmet before I trust myself on the highway. I kind of took my time, biking a little slower on my way back, stopping at the bridge to take some nice shots of Montana Creek, and just enjoying the air. Once when I stopped, two dogs came up to me and let me pet them. They were both adorable: a pit bull mix and a really cute black lab/retriever mix, both wet and smelly, but it was worth it. I can't wait to get a dog...

I also stopped once to take a self picture of me and the bike but it didn't work out the best. A lady and her lab ended up scaring the crap out of me just after I took the picture so I just headed on my way instead of taking another. It was a nice ride back with no wrecking which was good 😊. I did some picking up when I get home then called me mother. Then grabbed some stuff and headed here to the Waffle Co where I saw Nicola. Nicola was the German professor that taught Intro to Ichthyology my junior year (aka fall of 2007) and helped me fall in love with fish even though Ich is the HARDEST biology course at UAS. I must've had 20 million note cards with fish facts during that class and worked my ass off to earn that "A." But I love fish so it was an awesome course for me. Well here at the Waffle Co, I caught a table in the corner and didn't say anything to her because she had a little baby in her lab and was going off to some guy about the disappointment she had in her graduate student. Hope my future professor doesn't think that about me one day...it was still nice to see the red-headed fish lady though.

Well, it's just after 5 and I better wander home now. The roommies are cooking dinner and I think I may go home and read a bit about fish. And maybe...just maybe...go for another ride at the university. Who knows, my arms are a little sore from earlier but it's totally worth it. Overall, it's been a great day and turned out to be awesome weather for a bike ride. Back to the rainforest and tourists tomorrow...


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 28


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb