stand back, that ammolite is mine


Advertisement
Published: August 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm so full I haven't quite figured out how I'm going to make it back to my room. Maybe if someone gives me a push I might be able to roll back, but otherwise things are looking a bit grim. Things like Princess Cruises are the reason why so many Americans are so 'healthy'. I haven't eaten so well or so much in my life.

Food aside, there's not a whole lot else to do on the cruise, although morning trivia is always a riot..ahem. The only thing left to do now is join bingo, although I'm not sure we could withstand the horde of stampeding granny's should Yash and I manage to call bingo before one of them.

Thankfully though, the scenery on the cruise more than makes up for it. Glacier Bay, the fjords, the midnight sun and clear seas is reason enough to make the trip. In Jeneau we took a helicopter trip to Mendenhall Glaceir which was amazing, it's a totally different view of the glacier and you can really see how huge and spectacular it is. They also let us down onto the ice for a little while so we can get right up
Princess CurisesPrincess CurisesPrincess Curises

our trusty home
and close to it - drink the icy glacial water and be amazed by the intense blue of the compacted ice.

Other ports of call weren't quite as wonderful, unless you had a particular penchant for ammolite or one of the other precious stones. Being as the tourist season is so short, jewellers are super aggressive in their sales technique, and if you were to believe the onboard 24-hour personal shopping assistant, you better be first off board if you're going to snatch up that perfect ammolite pendant before the rest of the oldies get their eyes on it. Although why anyone would rush to Alaska to buy a fossil no-one has ever heard of is beyond me, shows how sophisticated I am I guess... Despite the hype, disappointingly we didn't see any shoving or elbowing, but I'm still holding out to see some bullying grannies on the last day 50% off onboard sale. My personal shopping assistant promised me riots, and riots we shall have! Even if I have to start one myself.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Cabin roomsCabin rooms
Cabin rooms

Yash indulging in his favourite past-time..watching tv.
On boardOn board
On board

Mum, Yash, Dad
ShuffleboardShuffleboard
Shuffleboard

..well, we've got to keep ourselves entertained somehow..


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb