Amazing Grace


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Fairbanks
July 6th 2009
Published: July 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Have you ever been in a place in your life where you really have no idea what you are doing or even how you got where you are?? Well, that's me at this very moment! I have always been a fairly stable person with a somewhat rational head on my shoulders. Always had very stable jobs, nice cars, nice places to live. Imagine losing ALL of these things within a matter of months!! One might think..."what the heck are you doing wrong?" or "man you are really having a run of bad luck!" I say, "Ok God, what are you trying to show me here?" Since asking that question I have found that "YES" God is indeed trying to show me something. Not quite sure yet "WHAT" He is showing me but I am indeed "IN THE WAY."

I have an uncle in Alaska that I haven't seen in probably 30 years or more. Nieces and Nephews and an Aunt I have NEVER met, and they have graciously opened their house to me for an undetermined period of time. Since I am currently unemployed I obviously do NOT have the money to make this trip. I am blown away at the generosity from a man I really don't know and he knows nothing about me! Of course I will be paying him back in whatever way I can but the point is "I don't have to worry about how I'm going to get up there!" What a load off my back! One might ask, "What about your car? What are you going to do with it while you're up there?" Interestingly enough, I was in an auto accident in March that totalled out my Tahoe. I had to buy a cheap vehicle to get around so I bought one outright. It broke down about a month ago leaving me without ANY transportation. Another dilema out of the way! Once I get to Alaska I will seek employment in any area I can find it.

Everything has taken shape and I am in a direction that has no heading other than my aunt and uncles house in Delta Junction Alaska. Population +/- 2,000 people. I have always lived in very large cities and I have NO IDEA what to expect or to even plan for what I am going to be exposed to? Wide open country with really only (1) main road going through the place! Yeah, that's why I have labeled this experience "Ken's Alaskan Adventure!"

Follow me as I experience a place that very vew people get a chance to explore! A chance of a lifetime! How could I pass this up? I am leaving an awesome family and the greatest friends a guy could ask for! I am nervous, anxious, excited, and scared to death!! You better believe I will be taking pitures and maybe even a video clip or two along the way! Make comments, suggestions, and maybe even an encouragement or two as I head out to the Great White North.

Here we go! Strap up the dogsled and let's have some fun!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb