Anchorage in the Summer


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Anchorage
September 12th 2006
Published: September 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

While it takes many trips outside of Anchorage to get the true feel of Alaska, Anchorage has much to offer. Flowers and artwork are everywhere. During the short summer here, you can see workers constantly tending them.

There are the usual museums, cultural centers, zoo, botanical gardens and parks. My neice and nephew's favorite was the polar bear at the zoo which played with its toys for hours.

Dorothy, a good friend, loved the Alaska Native Heritage Center where they had storytelling, ulu knife demonstrations and native artwork.

But for any of you that know me, I love the trails. Bike trails abound in the city, one I can ride to work and another goes along the coast. It is also the best place to see moose and up to now I have seen approximately 13 but of course never did I have my camera. (I will keep trying!) There are different philosophies about how to handle a moose on the trail. Most people tend to wait until the moose stops munching and moves away from the trail. (This could be awhile)! Others believe that as long as you make noise and do not scare them that it is safe to pass. Usually a calf (if that's what they're called) is with momma moose and I've seen the mom turn around and chase a bicyclist as it passed. As for me, I usually find another way around if possible. Dorothy and I actually saw a bull moose on the trail one day and it let out a sound very much like a fog horn.

Thanks to Morgan, I actually climbed Flattop which is a short hike just outside the city. It doesn't really get treacherous until the end where you need to climb on all fours to get to the top, which of course is flat. Climbing down was actually the difficult part (psychologically) for me. Usually there is a good view from the top but it was foggy when we were there. Supposedly on the Summer Solstice, climbing flattop is an event that draws thousands.

Well, enjoy the pictures and talk to you soon.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb