3rd Week in Dothan


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alabama
February 26th 2022
Published: March 1st 2022
Edit Blog Post

Sunday: A lazy sunday morning after an action packed Saturday out adventuring. Of course I had to do more peanut hunting, but since it was Sunday I found a lot of businesses were closed. I'm showing up on a lot of security cameras I'm sure people going what is that lady doing here... oh well! Later in the afternoon Copper and I did a local hike at a place called "forever wild trails" which is inside the Dothan city limits. It's the longest trail system I'm found in GA, FL and AL but it's mostly because they are just carving loopy trails into a small area. More of a mountain bike place as well. The pine trees are also all planted in perfect rows so very man made. Given all the loopy trails we did get a bit lost and were out still when it got dark. oops! It was still nice to be able to do decent mileage on a hike- even if it's completely flat without feeling like you hiked every inch of the state park- which is how all other places around here have been.

Monday: Thanks to George Washington's Birthday there was no work today. So the day was spent primarily peanut hunting. Man I truly am obsessed. Almost got them all!!! Also did an adventure to Blue Springs State Park. The state park definitely looked like there hadn't been a single dollar of funding given to it for upgrades since the 1990s. Did go on a quick hike and turned around when it started to drizzle. Only when I got back to the trail head did I learn it was a loop trail and we were about 75% around the loop. Another hiking oops! ha.

Tuesday:

Wednesday: I had been using a downloaded peanut map, but I finally made it to the visitors center when it was open and they had an updated paper map. All my peanut hunting would have been easier with the paper map but I also found out there were 5 new peanuts on the map! So suddenly my goal got moved when I was almost there 😞

Saturday: Started the morning with a hike at the "firehouse trail system" and still there are some unexplored trails- very impressive for the southeast. Following the hike I tried to finish the peanut hunt but there is 1 last peanut which I suspect is inside the museum which has very limited hours so fingers crossed I can get the last peanut next week! In the afternoon Dothan had quite an impressive Mardi Gras parade- especially given the size of the town. Many floats had dog treats to throw out and Copper took home 27 treats and I think he probably ate close to a dozen while we were there. He also got 2 footballs, peanut stress balls and an actual dog tug toy. Definitely a spoiled cute dog who soaked up all the attention!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb