Getting into a routine (ish)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alabama » Gulf Shores
January 31st 2011
Published: January 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Whoops. I am so very sorry everyone. I have kinda epically failed at blogging about this latest adventure of mine, so I am truly sorry about that. I will try to be better, but I can't promise anything. It's tough cause there is less going on than some of my previous experiences, and my internet time is less frequent. But enough with the excuses.

Things have been going very well. I am enjoying the job very much. I had a pretty stressful week two weeks ago, mostly just a lot of stuff happening a few days' time, but it all turned out okay, so that was good. Our guided tours start tomorrow (hopefully... I am supposed to give the tour tomorrow, but it is also supposed to be crazy storming tomorrow so we may have to cancel) and then they will continue through the end of March, so it is going to be a busy few months. In addition to that, some field work with the alabama beach mice should be starting in the next month or so, so that is very exciting as well.

I will now tell a somewhat funny story (warning: it will probably loose something in re-telling). For the past 2 weeks or so, I've been fighting a battle with my printer. It suddenly stopped working for no apparent reason and I spent much time on the phone with our IT people, trying to get them to fix it. It seemed like I was never going to get it working again. Quite frustrating actually.. I kept having to email things to Jackie to have her print them out, or I'd have to go to another computer (whose printer is obnoxious and takes forever to warm up and print) to print things out. Finally, on Friday I got ahold of the IT guy and he was attempting to fix it. But he couldn't figure it out. He kept having us unplug cables and plug them back in, but nothing changed. I left to do some stuff in the field and when I came back Jackie told me the guy had given up and that he was passing it along to someone else. But in the meantime he wanted us to try putting in a different USB cable. So I opened a new cable, hooked it up, and thought "hey, I might as well try printing something, just for kicks". Bam. It printed. The extent of my excitement when the printer started warming up and making the normal "pre-printing" noises, was a little bit disturbing, and probably a bit unnatural. I got so so happy. Funny how little things like be able to print something immediately come to be appreciate so much more when you can't do them for a while. 😊 So, after a long haul, I have a printer again! Woo! Now every time I print something I get all happy.

Hm that is about all I have on the work front at the moment. I am currently enjoying some more David Sedaris short stories, and also just picked up The Hunger Games, which is a book my friends were telling me I needed to read, and it turns out it is the February book club book, so with any luck I will be able to read it by next Monday in time to go to the meeting. It'll be my first book club experience, so I'll be sure to let ya'll know how that goes. 😊


Weather here has been lovely, especially compared to what my friends and family back in NJ have been dealing with. Ugh, I'm so sorry guys. It seems like it has just been endlessly cold and snowy. The past few days here have been wonderful, but with this storm tomorrow, a cold front is supposed to come through, but any time I think about complaining, I just look up the weather in the Northeast and that shuts me up real fast. 😊

Alright, should go and read/cook dinner. Will try to write again before too long!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb