The ferry ride


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alabama » Bayou La Batre
January 27th 2011
Published: January 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Burr!! It is cold this morning. It got down to 30' & my sleeping bag isn't designed for the extreme cold. I slept in my hot sox, lower long johns, a tee shirt, my fleece vest, a pair of gloves and a stocking cap. With all this on I was still cold. I bought an extra blanket later in the day for the next time we camp which will be in a couple days. Zoe, the camp pig, was trying to get in my tent while I was in the bathroom. Sam had to run her away. When we finally met up with Bob & Mary we started out on a bike trail. This was nice to be on a trail but we crossed several driveways which was a pain. We Rode to Fort Morgan to catch the ferry to Dolphin Island. The problem was we had to be to the ferry landing by a certain time or we would be forcedcd to wait 1 1/2 hours longer. We arrived with 30 min to spare. My average speed was 9.3 mph when we got to the ferry. We pulled in line with the other cars. Many others were there waiting as were we. Several people stopped over and visited with us, it was a great time. We then caught the ferry and went to Dolphin Island. When we got closer to the island we noticed this tall sail boat bridge we will need to ride over, oh joy😞 Once on the island we stopped by a bakery for a snack and rode on. When we got to the bridge there was this hill and I thought this wasn't so bad, maybe it wasn't as bad as it looked. Once I reached the top of this hill I realized this wasn't the complete bridge, there was more, much more. The last 10 miles or so we had the wind in our faces. We finally made it to Bayou La Batre for the night. I was able to stop by the post office and get my two packages Tammy sent. I also sent several rather large pine cones home. I know it sounds corny. We found the only motel for several miles. There wasn't even a place to camp. This was it. Bob was paranoid with this and didn't want to jinx our stay here so he did't want to try to talk her down in the price. We paid full price. We walked next door to a local eatery for supper. It is nice to be inside for the night. We rode 49 miles.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb