Day Twenty Two- July 5, 2010 Tampa to Montreal Tour


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alabama » Athens
July 5th 2010
Published: July 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The family we miss so much!The family we miss so much!The family we miss so much!

Grandma Joanne, Lorelei, Amanda, Kristin, Daniel, Leah, Oupa Brando, Morgan
Well, I should not complain, because we have had a phenomenal trip for over 3 weeks, but last night was the first bad experience in a hotel on this trip. The Best Western in Athens Alabama is a true roach motel, with 1/3 of the shower covered in black mold and little critters crawling about. It was gross. Unfortunately, after such a long day of driving, there was absolutely no way I was going to get Brando to move out and find another hotel. Even though we have done a lot of camping in our lives, I was struggling to equate the lack of cleanliness to the great outdoors, because I would have preferred the fresh air and clean dirt over this place.

Needless to say I woke up at 5:00am ready to go. Brando thought I was insane, but we finally got back on the road by 6:00am and Brando treated me to a Starbucks Carmel Macchiato Coffee to sweeten the mood.

Now I am really anxious to get home. I miss seeing my family, my daughters Amanda, Kristin and her husband Daniel, and my granddaughters Lorelei, Morgan and Leah.

What a great day of driving. We managed to find cool air all the way south, when the rest of the southern states are going through a heat wave and rain. Once we left Alabama, we swung by Cairo Georgia (home of baseball great Jackie Robinson) to say hello to some car friends we met on a past Glidden Tour in South Dakota, Wayne and Rosa Ann Hadden. Unfortunately, we drove up to their restaurant, Mr. Chick's, and found that it was closed for the Independence Day holiday. They also have an awesome Antique Auto Museum right behind the restaurant. See you next trip Wayne and Rosa Ann!

The drive from there to Tallahassee finally caught us in the rain. Serious rain, we can't see the car in front of us with the flashers on, and our 6 volt battery does not put out enough illumination for my comfort, so I am really worried for safety. Brando, realizing my apprehension, and my anguish from the night before, took me to the first Marriot he saw. As I type now, I am sipping a rum & coke in a lovely suite....ahhhhhh :-) We should ask for sponsorship from Outback Steakhouse, as we are dining there again tonight and it is great as always!

We should make home tomorrow, and I am really anxious to get there. I am missing our dog (Jax) and cat (Kitty) very much! Nothing like their smiling faces at the end of a busy day.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb