Madi heads off to south America


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
August 24th 2014
Published: August 24th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Week 3- South America

On the 14th of January I was off to Mexico. The AUD$175 flight from Kenya was quite uneventful, and as soon as I was off the plane I was off to Los Carbos. It was hot here, but not nearly as hot as Africa. I was staying at Las Ventana, a 5 star hotel costing me $1577 for 3 days.

One of the most exciting things about my trip was the soccer game I went to, supporting Australia as they played against Mexico. The tickets cost me AUD$144 and I was up close, right next to the field. It was nice to be with other Australians, and I was reminded of home. Australia won, and I was swept up in the crowd’s cheers and celebrations.

I was taken onto the seas the next day, and it was absolutely beautiful. The water was so clear that you could see the bottom, and you could see the fish and other sea creatures darting through the waves. We stopped at the Goldern Arch, a big rock structure famous for curving into an arch into the water, and jumped off into the waves. The boat hire cost AUD$4857 from Los Carbos Boat Hire, and was worth it to spend the entire day out on the waves.

I flew from Los Carbos to Cancun for AUD$79.90, and caught a public bus from the airport to the town of Piste for AUD$53. From there it was a small drive to Chichen Itza on a bus tour for AUD$97. We stopped first at the Temple of Kukulkan, and I was amazed by the 365 steps that made up the structure- one for each day of the year. It was interesting to see some of the other pyramids, temples and rituals that the Maya people used when they rules Chichen Itza.

The next day I packed up to go to the Bahamas. The plane ticket cost AUD$170.75. I was staying at the 3 ½ star Atlantis Resort for 4 days, which was costing me AUD$1204. As well as a shark tank, the resort had other marine life including stingrays, which I was lucky enough to swim with for just AUD$2290. Along with this, the resort had countless activities, including waterslides, swimming pools and loads of animals. They also had Jet Ski hire, which I couldn’t pass up, and spent most of the next day riding through the waves for AUD$177.50.

The last day of my trip came fast, and I spent the majority of it at the beach. The dolphins were amazing and playful, and so fun to watch. I also spent some time at the resort’s jungle gym, just enjoying being a kid again. In fact, some of the other kids came up to me and told me I was too old! I just chuckled and ran through the ropes.



I couldn’t believe my holidays were over, but I was excited to fly home for a cost of AUD$1735.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb