Tepotzlan Cooking Class


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
August 4th 2010
Published: August 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Sunday, August 1, 2010

Sunday was our opportunity to attend a cooking class in Tepoztlan to experience some native dishes... gourmet style. We drove taxis to the scenic town which is believed to have special spiritual powers. It's nestled among impressive cliffs. A few ventured to the ruins atop one of the mountains, an arduous and tricky hike. It was a beautiful, spring-like day, but now that I've got a cold or "walking pneumonia" (haven't decided which one yet), I wasn't quite up to the task. We did have a fun time preparing our meal for the day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

A mural made of grain.A mural made of grain.
A mural made of grain.

I was told that the people at the market create this every year as a token of thanks. It's all made from different types and colors of grain.
Preparing more food. Preparing more food.
Preparing more food.

I did more chopping that day than in the past 10 years.
Cricket Sandwich. Yes, they are crickets, and yes, I did eat the whole thing.Cricket Sandwich. Yes, they are crickets, and yes, I did eat the whole thing.
Cricket Sandwich. Yes, they are crickets, and yes, I did eat the whole thing.

They were a bit salty; other than that, they weren't that bad. No, they don't taste like chicken.


4th August 2010

Hi Paul, Sorry to hear your feeling under the weather but I'm not sure that eating a cricket sandwich will help. :)
4th August 2010

Dear Paul, You combine "business" with pleasure: to help as a volunteer the poor childeren at Vamos and to make a native dish with crickets but also to visit the Brady museum. I guess you have a great time in Mexico. I enjoy your messages and pictures. With kind regards, Wim

Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb