Oaxaca


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
July 16th 2010
Published: July 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Street of OaxacaStreet of OaxacaStreet of Oaxaca

I like to take street pictures for some reason
All right, time for the Oaxaca update! Even though I am no longer there!

I arrived in Oaxaca, and was going to stay with some friends of mine that own a hotel. They usually let travelers use an extra room. Alas, there was already a couple there, and one was quite sick (turns out he had contracted typhoid), so I stayed in a different room. I only had one night there, so I did two things. I'll do two updates, one for each thing.

The first day, I went to this huge, old church (Santo Domingo) that is also a museum now. It was huge! And a lot of the interior was covered in gold (your tithe dollars at work).

(Interesting note: I was told that the Catholic church bears the cost of maintaining all the churches in central america. Not sure if that is true.)

They had rooms upon rooms of artifacts from the native people. There was also quite a neat botanical garden full of native plants.

Anyway, here are the pictures! I'm sorry some are blurry...everything was surrounded by glass that wasn't super clean.


Additional photos below
Photos: 142, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Oaxaca ZocaloOaxaca Zocalo
Oaxaca Zocalo

Bigger than the one in SC
Not Santo Domingo!Not Santo Domingo!
Not Santo Domingo!

This is a smaller church near the Zocalo that I initially mistook for Santo Domingo
CarvingsCarvings
Carvings

I liked the carvings on this church
PortraitPortrait
Portrait

They had tons of paintings everywhere. Still not Santo Domingo
SunburstSunburst
Sunburst

An interesting looking sunburst
HmmHmm
Hmm

Not sure why I took this.
Santo DomingoSanto Domingo
Santo Domingo

At least we arrive at Santo Domingo!


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb